Mapa de Manaus: Resurveying a Property Register Frozen Since 2010

🤖 AI-generated summary of the sources below · 🔎 Last verified · ◆ 16 sourced claims, none individually verified yet

This overview was generated with AI from the public sources listed below and checked against them before publication. It has not had a complete human fact-check — treat it as a starting point and follow the sources.

How this atlas is made · What “last verified” means · What “source-checked” means · The full record behind this page

Manaus's municipal property register had not had a full update since 2010. From late 2019 the finance and IT secretariat SEMEF ran Mapa de Manaus with contractor Topocart: an aircraft flew metric aerial photography with laser profiling over more than 520 km², a vehicle drove the streets capturing 360° façade imagery, and around 70 field teams verified buildings on the ground, producing a 10 cm-precision orthophoto base and a catalogue of roughly 600,000 property units. By March 2023 some 345,000 of the city's ~601,000 registered properties had been updated and about 10,000 properties entered the register for the first time. The layers now sit on the city's own ArcGIS Enterprise server.

Completed 📅 2019–2023
Evidence🏛️ Official
what does this mean?The strongest source is the operator's or the city's own reporting — an official report, dataset or press release. It grades who did the looking — not how well the project went. All four grades →
Scale🏙️ City-wide

Sources

↗ Prefeitura de Manaus — Projeto 'Mapa de Manaus' da prefeitura atualiza cadastro de 345 mil imóveis na capitalPublished 27 February 2023Load-bearing municipal source: 345,000 properties updated, ~10,000 newly added, the technology list ("imagens aéreas métricas, perfilamento a laser, varredura por mapeamento móvel terrestre em 360° e vistorias em campo") and the quote "A última atualização desse nível foi realizada em 2010" from subsecretário da Receita Armínio Pontes.
↗ Topocart — Topocart executa as etapas finais do Projeto Mapa de ManausContractor source for the survey specification: project begun late 2019 for SEMEF, 520+ km² cartographic base, ~600,000 property units, 10 cm precision, three phases (aerophotogrammetry with laser profiling, 360° mobile mapping, field cadastral update with 70 teams). Supplier self-description — treat scope figures as contractor-reported.
↗ A Crítica — Prefeitura de Manaus atualiza cadastro de 345 mil imóveis e gera aumento no IPTUPublished 7 March 20232023-03-07. Independent press: confirms 345,000 of 601,000 registrations and carries the counterweight — named residents reporting bills rising from R$700 to R$1,200 and a registered area jumping from 76 m² to 126 m², plus councillor Rodrigo Guedes on citizens "surpreendidos com valores em dobro, triplo e até quatro vezes".
↗ Prefeitura de Manaus — ArcGIS REST services directory (pmm.manaus.am.gov.br)Primary evidence, fetched and verified directly: a live ArcGIS Enterprise 11.5 server publishing 59 folders including GEOMANAUS, SEMEF, SEMEF_3D, IMPLURB, IMMU, CCC, SEMULSP and MANAUS_3D_TESTE — the operating geospatial layer the survey fed. Note: the public front end mapademanaus.manaus.am.gov.br returned HTTP 503 to automated requests on 2026-08-10 (twice); a human should confirm the viewer is reachable before sealing.
Show your work What this page rests on and what it can’t tell you · all 16 claims with their sources · the forensic record

Evidence Passport · public beta 16 addressable claims, 4 source dossiers, one permanent baseline. The passport is unreviewed — an AI-assisted structural migration, not a human or expert endorsement. Every revision keeps a permanent copy under revision history.

Inspect the claims, one by one — verbatim text, sources and caveats for all 16

The text below is copied verbatim from the published record. Each claim names the source dossiers that carry it; caveats stay attached to the claim they qualify.

Claim 1 clm-0d0c3744b220f265 quantitative
Manaus's municipal property register had not had a full update since 2010.
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
The subsecretário da Receita, Armínio Pontes, is quoted directly: "A última atualização desse nível foi realizada em 2010" ("The last update at that level took place in 2010").
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. Prefeitura de Manaus — Projeto 'Mapa de Manaus' da prefeitura atualiza cadastro de 345 mil imóveis na capital
Claim 2 clm-9d675447bd8cf3b0 quantitative
From late 2019 the finance and IT secretariat SEMEF ran Mapa de Manaus with contractor Topocart
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
The contractor's own page states the city began the project at the end of 2019 ("a Prefeitura deu início, no final de 2019, a um grandioso projeto") and names the executing agency as SEMEF ("executado pela Secretaria Municipal de Finanças e Tecnologia da Informação (Semef)"); Topocart is the author of this page, titled 'Topocart executa as etapas finais do Projeto Mapa de Manaus', confirming its role as the survey contractor.
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. Topocart — Topocart executa as etapas finais do Projeto Mapa de Manaus
Claim 3 clm-bca40720f00b7490 quantitative
an aircraft flew metric aerial photography with laser profiling over more than 520 km²
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
Confirms the technique ("levantamento aerofotogramétrico com perfilamento laser", aerophotogrammetric survey with laser profiling) and the area covered: "No total, a base cartográfica abrangeu mais de 520 km²" ("In total, the cartographic base covered more than 520 km²").
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. Topocart — Topocart executa as etapas finais do Projeto Mapa de Manaus
Claim 4 clm-6a3ac125880b317d quantitative
a vehicle drove the streets capturing 360° façade imagery
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
The source describes '360° mobile mapping of property façades' ("mapeamento móvel 360º das fachadas dos imóveis"); the city's own account of the same technology calls it 'terrestrial mobile mapping scanning' ("varredura por mapeamento móvel terrestre em 360°"), standard terminology for vehicle-mounted mobile mapping systems.
Caveat
Neither source uses the word 'vehicle' explicitly; 360° terrestrial mobile mapping at this scale is standard vehicle-mounted survey technology, but the sources describe the method rather than the equipment.

Sources carrying this claim

  1. Topocart — Topocart executa as etapas finais do Projeto Mapa de Manaus
Claim 5 clm-00be0a85796d3b5d quantitative
around 70 field teams verified buildings on the ground
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
"o levantamento cadastral de campo contou com 70 equipes para cadastrar quase 600 mil imóveis" ("the field cadastral survey had 70 teams to register nearly 600,000 properties").
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. Topocart — Topocart executa as etapas finais do Projeto Mapa de Manaus
Claim 6 clm-8a2755a4d5f415a4 quantitative
producing a 10 cm-precision orthophoto base
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
The source states the cartographic base achieved 10 cm precision: "com uma precisão de 10 cm".
Caveat
The source gives the 10 cm precision figure but never uses the word 'orthophoto' ('ortofoto'/'ortomosaico' do not appear on the page); the orthophoto product is inferred from the aerophotogrammetry-with-laser-profiling method, not stated directly.

Sources carrying this claim

  1. Topocart — Topocart executa as etapas finais do Projeto Mapa de Manaus
Claim 7 clm-c20f66b170c98ef7 quantitative
a catalogue of roughly 600,000 property units
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
"...para cadastrar quase 600 mil imóveis" ("...to register nearly 600,000 properties") — the contractor's own stated scope of the survey.
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. Topocart — Topocart executa as etapas finais do Projeto Mapa de Manaus
Claim 8 clm-ba7c9d7fd7ed2e5f quantitative
By March 2023 some 345,000 of the city's ~601,000 registered properties had been updated
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
A Crítica (dated 2023-03-07) states this year's IPTU billing totalled 601,000 property registrations ("O lançamento do Imposto sobre a Propriedade Predial e Territorial Urbana (IPTU) deste ano somou 601 mil cadastros imobiliários"); the city's own release states roughly 345,000 of these had records updated ("aproximadamente 345 mil imóveis da capital amazonense tiveram seus dados atualizados junto à base do cadastro imobiliário municipal").
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. A Crítica — Prefeitura de Manaus atualiza cadastro de 345 mil imóveis e gera aumento no IPTU
  2. Prefeitura de Manaus — Projeto 'Mapa de Manaus' da prefeitura atualiza cadastro de 345 mil imóveis na capital
Claim 9 clm-0c206a65bb252cd0 quantitative
about 10,000 properties entered the register for the first time
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
"também foram inclusos cerca de 10 mil imóveis que ainda não faziam parte da base cadastral imobiliária da prefeitura" ("about 10,000 properties that were not yet part of the city's property cadastre were also included").
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. Prefeitura de Manaus — Projeto 'Mapa de Manaus' da prefeitura atualiza cadastro de 345 mil imóveis na capital
Claim 10 clm-db8edb5979a442ee descriptive
The layers now sit on the city's own ArcGIS Enterprise server
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
Directly fetched: a live ArcGIS Enterprise 11.5 REST Services Directory hosted by the city, listing about 60 folders including GEOMANAUS, SEMEF, SEMEF_3D, IMPLURB, IMMU, CCC and SEMULSP — municipal-department-named services consistent with 'dozens of departmental services'.
Caveat
The directory confirms the city operates this ArcGIS server, with SEMEF- and GEOMANAUS-named folders among roughly 60 total, but the page does not itself label any layer as the Mapa de Manaus survey output — the link between these folders and this specific project is inferred from SEMEF being the project's executing agency, not stated on the page. Not every one of the roughly 60 folders is confirmed to represent a distinct city department; some may be generic or utility folders.

Sources carrying this claim

  1. Prefeitura de Manaus — ArcGIS REST services directory (pmm.manaus.am.gov.br)
Claim 11 clm-ac4ea326cc525ae4 quantitative
SEMEF reports about 345,000 of roughly 601,000 registered properties updated and about 10,000 previously unregistered properties added
Published field
impact · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
The city's own release states ~345,000 properties updated ("aproximadamente 345 mil imóveis...tiveram seus dados atualizados") and ~10,000 newly added ("também foram inclusos cerca de 10 mil imóveis que ainda não faziam parte da base cadastral"); A Crítica independently confirms the 601,000 total against which the 345,000 is measured ("601 mil cadastros imobiliários").
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. Prefeitura de Manaus — Projeto 'Mapa de Manaus' da prefeitura atualiza cadastro de 345 mil imóveis na capital
  2. A Crítica — Prefeitura de Manaus atualiza cadastro de 345 mil imóveis e gera aumento no IPTU
Claim 12 clm-9cfb2c84dd2b3be1 quantitative
the subsecretário da Receita states the last update at that level was in 2010
Published field
impact · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
Direct quote from Armínio Pontes, subsecretário da Receita: "A última atualização desse nível foi realizada em 2010" ("The last update at that level was carried out in 2010").
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. Prefeitura de Manaus — Projeto 'Mapa de Manaus' da prefeitura atualiza cadastro de 345 mil imóveis na capital
Claim 13 clm-4d7d15e7dcf861e2 descriptive
Residents told the press their bills had doubled, tripled or quadrupled
Published field
lesson · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
City councillor Rodrigo Guedes is quoted describing residents' reaction: "Os manauaras foram surpreendidos com valores em dobro, triplo e até quatro vezes o que estava sendo cobrado em 2022" ("Manaus residents were caught off guard by amounts double, triple and even four times what was charged in 2022").
Caveat
The 'doubled, tripled or quadrupled' framing is city councillor Rodrigo Guedes's public characterization of residents' reaction, not a verbatim quote from a resident. The two residents quoted directly in the source describe smaller specific increases — one from R$700 to R$1,200, about 71%.

Sources carrying this claim

  1. A Crítica — Prefeitura de Manaus atualiza cadastro de 345 mil imóveis e gera aumento no IPTU
Claim 14 clm-ff385caf8b50a3ce quantitative
one owner's registered floor area jumped from 76 m² to 126 m² on a house he said he had not altered in 13 years
Published field
lesson · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
Resident Reinaldo Pinheiro is quoted directly: "Na minha casa, há mais de 13 anos que não faço alteração na planta. Recebi o carnê alterando minha área construída de 76 m² para 126 m²" ("In my house, for more than 13 years I haven't altered the floor plan. I received the tax bill with my built area changed from 76 m² to 126 m²").
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. A Crítica — Prefeitura de Manaus atualiza cadastro de 345 mil imóveis e gera aumento no IPTU
Claim 15 clm-f9448d437e2f996e descriptive
a city councillor attacked the lack of advance explanation
Published field
lesson · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
Councillor Rodrigo Guedes is quoted: "A Prefeitura de Manaus não emitiu nenhuma informação para a população do que realmente está acontecendo" ("Manaus city hall issued no information to the population about what is really happening").
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. A Crítica — Prefeitura de Manaus atualiza cadastro de 345 mil imóveis e gera aumento no IPTU
Claim 16 clm-e64508ca1f2720dc descriptive
the rate had not risen, only the recorded area
Published field
lesson · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
Councillor Rodrigo Guedes states no law was passed changing the IPTU rate or tax base: "não foi aprovada nenhuma lei aqui na CMM que aumente a alíquota ou a base de cálculo do IPTU" ("no law was passed here in the City Council raising the IPTU rate or the tax base") — confirming the increase came from the updated recorded property area, not a rate change.
Caveat
This is a statement by councillor Rodrigo Guedes, not an independent audit of the tax roll — it confirms no rate-changing law was passed, not an independently verified accounting of exactly what changed in every individual case.

Sources carrying this claim

  1. A Crítica — Prefeitura de Manaus atualiza cadastro de 345 mil imóveis e gera aumento no IPTU
Forensic record — source dossiers, gaps, hashes and the exact revision this page renders

This layer records what is known about each source, what is still missing, and the exact snapshot this page is rendering. A missing date, archive or hash stays visible as missing.

unreviewed Revision 2026-08-22-evidence-baseline effective 2026-08-10 · created 2026-08-22

Awaiting operator and domain-expert review; publication of this revision implies neither.

sha256:e4311673aca088ed5b4961eccc290019bfe363f93b06741015bd46e97ce4e69a
16
of 16 claims mapped
4
source dossiers
2
publication dates recorded
0
archives linked
0
exact locators
0
content captures hashed

Governance facts carried by the record

Operator
Secretaria Municipal de Finanças e Tecnologia da Informação (SEMEF), Prefeitura de Manaus; survey by Topocart
Actor types
city-government
Funding model
Not recorded
Funding description
Not recorded
Cost
Not recorded
Ownership
Not recorded
Decision rights
Not recorded
Exit conditions
Not recorded

4 source dossiers

Prefeitura de Manaus — Projeto 'Mapa de Manaus' da prefeitura atualiza cadastro de 345 mil imóveis na capital manaus.am.gov.br · 5 linked claims

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-f30b6ec0900c1a4f
Publisher
Name not classified · manaus.am.gov.br
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2023-02-27
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-08-10
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Load-bearing municipal source: 345,000 properties updated, ~10,000 newly added, the technology list ("imagens aéreas métricas, perfilamento a laser, varredura por mapeamento móvel terrestre em 360° e vistorias em campo") and the quote "A última atualização desse nível foi realizada em 2010" from subsecretário da Receita Armínio Pontes.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Topocart — Topocart executa as etapas finais do Projeto Mapa de Manaus topocart.com.br · 6 linked claims

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-974fc631a91da6be
Publisher
Name not classified · topocart.com.br
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
Not recorded
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-08-10
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Contractor source for the survey specification: project begun late 2019 for SEMEF, 520+ km² cartographic base, ~600,000 property units, 10 cm precision, three phases (aerophotogrammetry with laser profiling, 360° mobile mapping, field cadastral update with 70 teams). Supplier self-description — treat scope figures as contractor-reported.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
A Crítica — Prefeitura de Manaus atualiza cadastro de 345 mil imóveis e gera aumento no IPTU acritica.com · 6 linked claims

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-fb00804ea0c2349e
Publisher
Name not classified · acritica.com
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2023-03-07
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-08-10
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

2023-03-07. Independent press: confirms 345,000 of 601,000 registrations and carries the counterweight — named residents reporting bills rising from R$700 to R$1,200 and a registered area jumping from 76 m² to 126 m², plus councillor Rodrigo Guedes on citizens "surpreendidos com valores em dobro, triplo e até quatro vezes".

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Prefeitura de Manaus — ArcGIS REST services directory (pmm.manaus.am.gov.br) pmm.manaus.am.gov.br · 1 linked claim

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-b76d171c8ceefe38
Publisher
Name not classified · pmm.manaus.am.gov.br
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
Not recorded
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-08-10
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Primary evidence, fetched and verified directly: a live ArcGIS Enterprise 11.5 server publishing 59 folders including GEOMANAUS, SEMEF, SEMEF_3D, IMPLURB, IMMU, CCC, SEMULSP and MANAUS_3D_TESTE — the operating geospatial layer the survey fed. Note: the public front end mapademanaus.manaus.am.gov.br returned HTTP 503 to automated requests on 2026-08-10 (twice); a human should confirm the viewer is reachable before sealing.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Known limits of this passport
  • Publisher names and source languages have not yet been classified; domains are recorded without guessing.
  • Existing source notes are descriptive locators, not page- or paragraph-exact citations.
  • A missing archive, publication date or content hash is shown as null rather than inferred.
  • The project-level evidence grade ranks the strongest source in the entry; it is not a truth score for every claim.

Continue exploring

Compare this project

The same parcel map, four different jobs

A city-scale property layer looks like a technical artefact and behaves like a political one. These four were built to do quite different things to the people inside the polygons.

The same parcel map, four different jobs — side-by-side comparison of 4 atlas entries; the "Cost" column honestly shows "not public" where no figure was ever published.
ProjectSinceStatusOutcomeEvidenceRun byCostWhat the map does to you
Mapa de Manaus: Resurveying a Property Register Frozen Since 2010Manaus, 🇧🇷 2019 Completed Succeeded Official City government not public Remeasures you. Residents told the press their bills had doubled, tripled or quadrupled — the rate had not risen, only the recorded area.
GEPTIS: Bengaluru's Geospatial Property Tax MapBengaluru, 🇮🇳 2016 Live Ongoing Media City government not public Colour-codes you by payment status. Mapping alone did not widen the tax net; enforcement came later, with door-to-door surveys and drones.
Kigali Master Plan Web GIS PortalKigali, 🇷🇼 2020 Live Ongoing Official City government not public Dates you. Every parcel carries the seven-year window in which its neighbourhood is due to be rebuilt.
SABREN: Rio's Municipal Register of FavelasRio de Janeiro, 🇧🇷 1990 Live Ongoing Official City government not public Recognises you, and can be used against you: the same polygon that guides service planning also carries the risk-area reports used to justify demolitions.

Explore the wider context

📎 Cite this project

1001 Smart Cities (2026). “Mapa de Manaus: Resurveying a Property Register Frozen Since 2010” — Manaus, Brazil. The Smart City Atlas. https://1001smartcities.org/projects/manaus-mapa-de-manaus-cadastre/ (last verified 2026-08-10). Data: CC BY 4.0.

The underlying data is free to reuse with attribution — see the open data page.

✉️ Get the next source-checked smart-city project in your inbox

One short email a week: the Landmark, one Insight, the new cities. No spam, one-click unsubscribe. About the newsletter · RSS