Lagos State Parametric Flood Insurance Policy
This overview was generated with AI from the public sources listed below and checked against them before publication. It has not had a complete human fact-check — treat it as a starting point and follow the sources.
11 sourced claims on this page, none individually verified yet — turn on “Sources in the text” to see each one.
How this atlas is made · What “last verified” means · What “source-checked” means · The full record behind this page
✎ Updated 22 Aug 2026 Publication date recorded for 10 sources. What changed →
A satellite sees the flood and the money moves, no loss adjuster. But the trigger threshold and the premium are undisclosed, a German fund paid 90% of year one, and no payout had been reported by late July 2026.
what does this mean?
The strongest source is the operator's or the city's own reporting — an official report, dataset or press release. It grades who did the looking — not how well the project went. All four grades →Part of 1001 Smart Cities — 1,167 documented projects · 🏙️ 5 more in Lagos · 🌊 Flood resilience guide · 🏛️ Governance projects
Since 26 March 2026 Lagos State has held a parametric flood insurance policy: instead of assessing damage after a flood, the contract pays when satellite-observed flood extent crosses an agreed threshold, so money moves without a loss adjuster. ICEYE radar satellites supply the flood footprints, JBA Risk Management built the model, AXA Mansard fronts the risk in Nigeria, and Swiss Re, African Risk Capacity Ltd and Africa Re carry it. Cover runs to US$7.5 million per event across seven of the state's twenty local government areas — Ajeromi-Ifelodun, Alimosho, Amuwo-Odofin, Apapa, Kosofe, Ojo and Somolu, all inside metropolitan Lagos. Three things are not public. The trigger thresholds are undisclosed, so no resident can check whether a flood should have paid. The premium is undisclosed, and Germany's InsuResilience Solutions Fund paid 90 per cent of the first year and keeps co-financing years two and three, so Lagos has never carried the full cost. And as of late July 2026, in the middle of the rainy season, no payout has been reported. Money would go to the state, which has undertaken to spend it on relief and cash transfers under its Flood Contingency Plan, identifying recipients through the LASRRA resident register.
📊 Impact
Every figure below comes from the donor-insurer consortium's own announcements, not from an independent review. UNDP's Insurance and Risk Finance Facility and the InsuResilience Solutions Fund state cover of up to US$7.5 million per flood event across seven local government areas, and a protected population of "up to 4 million" — a headcount of those areas rather than a register of insured people. The InsuResilience Solutions Fund states it financed 90 per cent of the first-year premium, with Lagos State committing to raise its share beyond 10 per cent in years two and three while the fund continues to co-finance; the premium itself is not disclosed by any party. ICEYE's Mike Bennett told business a.m. that radar flood observations reduce basis risk compared with rain or river gauges and that payment should take under a month — a supplier statement about an untested policy, not a measured result. No payout had been reported by 26 July 2026.
🎓 Lesson
Parametric cover is the cleanest form of measurement-with-consequence: the observation is not an input to a decision, it is the decision. But that only converts into accountability if the parameters are public and the money is traceable. Lagos publishes neither the threshold nor the premium, and the contract pays the state rather than the flooded household, so the four million people in the headline are beneficiaries by policy intention, not by contract. A premium someone else pays is also not yet a commitment: the test is the first payout, and the first renewal the state funds itself.
Sources
Show 5 more sourcesShow fewer
📅 How old is the evidence?
Two clocks, kept apart: when this entry’s sources were published, and what has happened to its record in the atlas. Documented span: since 2026. 5 of 10 sources carry a publication date, from 21 July 2025 to 1 May 2026.
When the sources were published
- United Nations Development Programme — Insurance and Risk Finance Facility · international organisationUNDP IRFF — parametric flood insurance solution designed for Lagos State (21 July 2025)
- InsuResilience Solutions Fund (KfW) · international organisationInsuResilience Solutions Fund — Lagos State goes live with parametric flood insurance policy
- Artemis · pressArtemis — Lagos State secures up to US$7.5m parametric flood insurance coverage
- Business a.m. · pressbusiness a.m. — Flood insurance payouts can be delivered in weeks, not years (20 April 2026)
- The Punch · pressPunch — Lagos targets four million residents with $7.5m flood insurance scheme
What happened to this record
- Sources last read
- Entered the record
- Publication date recorded for 10 sources
Show your work What this page rests on and what it can’t tell you · all 11 claims with their sources · the forensic record
Evidence Passport · public beta 11 addressable claims, 10 source dossiers, one permanent baseline. The passport is unreviewed — an AI-assisted structural migration, not a human or expert endorsement. Every revision keeps a permanent copy under revision history.
Inspect the claims, one by one — verbatim text, sources and caveats for all 11
The text below is copied verbatim from the published record. Each claim names the source dossiers that carry it; caveats stay attached to the claim they qualify.
clm-ea34b7615574e338
quantitative
Since 26 March 2026 Lagos State has held a parametric flood insurance policy: instead of assessing damage after a flood, the contract pays when satellite-observed flood extent crosses an agreed threshold, so money moves without a loss adjuster
Sources carrying this claim
clm-812cb695c62a0f3d
descriptive
ICEYE radar satellites supply the flood footprints, JBA Risk Management built the model, AXA Mansard fronts the risk in Nigeria, and Swiss Re, African Risk Capacity Ltd and Africa Re carry it
Sources carrying this claim
clm-28fa9c60bda07c43
quantitative
Cover runs to US$7.5 million per event across seven of the state's twenty local government areas
Sources carrying this claim
clm-94eaea7f101d542f
descriptive
The trigger thresholds are undisclosed, so no resident can check whether a flood should have paid
Sources carrying this claim
clm-9b14d5a6a015b961
quantitative
The premium is undisclosed, and Germany's InsuResilience Solutions Fund paid 90 per cent of the first year and keeps co-financing years two and three, so Lagos has never carried the full cost
Sources carrying this claim
clm-eb66514fc439966e
quantitative
as of late July 2026, in the middle of the rainy season, no payout has been reported
Sources carrying this claim
clm-c61947377769b871
descriptive
Money would go to the state, which has undertaken to spend it on relief and cash transfers under its Flood Contingency Plan, identifying recipients through the LASRRA resident register
Sources carrying this claim
clm-f3c66bf62b8d3a7b
quantitative
UNDP's Insurance and Risk Finance Facility and the InsuResilience Solutions Fund state cover of up to US$7.5 million per flood event across seven local government areas, and a protected population of "up to 4 million" — a headcount of those areas rather than a register of insured people
Sources carrying this claim
clm-019099bcf8914e1f
descriptive
ICEYE's Mike Bennett told business a.m. that radar flood observations reduce basis risk compared with rain or river gauges and that payment should take under a month — a supplier statement about an untested policy, not a measured result
Sources carrying this claim
clm-d1bd28e98fa1d2a9
descriptive
that only converts into accountability if the parameters are public and the money is traceable
Sources carrying this claim
- UNDP Insurance and Risk Finance Facility — Lagos State goes live with parametric flood insurance policy
- InsuResilience Solutions Fund — Lagos State goes live with parametric flood insurance policy
- Insurance Development Forum — technical report on the Lagos State parametric flood scheme (public version)
clm-24cb2031efb1e1cc
quantitative
the contract pays the state rather than the flooded household, so the four million people in the headline are beneficiaries by policy intention, not by contract
Sources carrying this claim
Forensic record — source dossiers, gaps, hashes and the exact revision this page renders
This layer records what is known about each source, what is still missing, and the exact snapshot this page is rendering. A missing date, archive or hash stays visible as missing.
Awaiting operator and domain-expert review; publication of this revision implies neither.
sha256:6f4b69eb176c658ce8f66984391bf5cb76a6b44ffecd7eeeaca398d3ff4b703c
- 11
- of 11 claims mapped
- 10
- source dossiers
- 6
- publication dates recorded
- 0
- archives linked
- 0
- exact locators
- 0
- content captures hashed
Governance facts carried by the record
- Operator
- Lagos State Government (policyholder; Office of the Sustainable Development Goals with the Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Budget and Economic Planning and LASEMA), fronted by AXA Mansard
- Actor types
- regional-government, private
- Funding model
- mixed
- Funding description
- InsuResilience Solutions Fund (German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development) financed 90 per cent of the first-year premium; Lagos State funded the remainder and is committed to a larger share in years two and three
- Cost
- Not recorded
- Ownership
- Not recorded
- Decision rights
- Not recorded
- Exit conditions
- Not recorded
10 source dossiers
UNDP Insurance and Risk Finance Facility — Lagos State goes live with parametric flood insurance policy
- Stable source ID
src-7f014b949e93363e- Publisher
- Name not classified · irff.undp.org
- Type / language
- web-page · language not classified
- Published
- Not recorded
- Updated
- Not recorded
- Source last checked
- No source-level check date
- Record last verified
- 2026-07-26
- Dossier created
- 2026-08-22
- Retrieved copy
- No local capture recorded
- Archive
- No archived copy linked
- Content hash
- No captured content hash
- Locator
- Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Open the recorded source note
Primary joint announcement. Verifies the 26 March 2026 go-live, the US$7.5m limit, seven local government areas, up to 4 million people, the full partner list, and the three-year term. Confirms payouts go to the state for relief and cash transfers under the Lagos Flood Contingency Plan. States no trigger threshold.
InsuResilience Solutions Fund — Lagos State goes live with parametric flood insurance policy
- Stable source ID
src-1634b4305b337824- Publisher
- Name not classified · insuresilience-solutions-fund.org
- Type / language
- web-page · language not classified
- Published
- 2026-03-26
- Updated
- Not recorded
- Source last checked
- No source-level check date
- Record last verified
- 2026-07-26
- Dossier created
- 2026-08-22
- Retrieved copy
- No local capture recorded
- Archive
- No archived copy linked
- Content hash
- No captured content hash
- Locator
- Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Open the recorded source note
The premium financier's own release, and the source for the premium split: 90 per cent of year one from ISF, with Lagos State committing to more than 10 per cent in years two and three while ISF continues to co-finance. Names the Lagos agencies involved (SDG office, Finance, Budget and Economic Planning, LASEMA). Does not disclose the premium amount.
UNDP IRFF — parametric flood insurance solution designed for Lagos State (21 July 2025)
- Stable source ID
src-05c13afd9fd3db56- Publisher
- Name not classified · irff.undp.org
- Type / language
- web-page · language not classified
- Published
- 2025-07-21
- Updated
- Not recorded
- Source last checked
- No source-level check date
- Record last verified
- 2026-07-26
- Dossier created
- 2026-08-22
- Retrieved copy
- No local capture recorded
- Archive
- No archived copy linked
- Content hash
- No captured content hash
- Locator
- Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Open the recorded source note
Design milestone eight months before go-live. Verifies that the trigger is 'pre-agreed flood triggers based on satellite flood footprint data', that regulatory approval was obtained, and that premium financing was still outstanding at that point. Discloses no numerical threshold.
- Claims linked
business a.m. — Flood insurance payouts can be delivered in weeks, not years (20 April 2026)
- Stable source ID
src-af4b906cdd6a3de4- Publisher
- Name not classified · businessamlive.com
- Type / language
- web-page · language not classified
- Published
- 2026-04-20
- Updated
- Not recorded
- Source last checked
- No source-level check date
- Record last verified
- 2026-07-26
- Dossier created
- 2026-08-22
- Retrieved copy
- No local capture recorded
- Archive
- No archived copy linked
- Content hash
- No captured content hash
- Locator
- Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Open the recorded source note
The most technically specific source found. ICEYE's Mike Bennett describes synthetic aperture radar flood observation rather than proxy rain or river gauges, argues it lowers basis risk, and says the cover targets severe and catastrophic events, not routine flooding. A supplier account, used as such.
- Claims linked
Artemis — Lagos State secures up to US$7.5m parametric flood insurance coverage
- Stable source ID
src-6fcecd03401dde3f- Publisher
- Name not classified · artemis.bm
- Type / language
- web-page · language not classified
- Published
- 2026-03-27
- Updated
- Not recorded
- Source last checked
- No source-level check date
- Record last verified
- 2026-07-26
- Dossier created
- 2026-08-22
- Retrieved copy
- No local capture recorded
- Archive
- No archived copy linked
- Content hash
- No captured content hash
- Locator
- Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Open the recorded source note
Independent risk-transfer trade press, corroborates the limit, the 90 per cent first-year premium finance, the three-year structure and the risk carriers (AXA Mansard fronting, Swiss Re and African Risk Capacity Ltd). Explicitly notes the premium is not disclosed.
Punch — Lagos targets four million residents with $7.5m flood insurance scheme
- Stable source ID
src-7b2ca8ae30a4436e- Publisher
- Name not classified · punchng.com
- Type / language
- web-page · language not classified
- Published
- 2026-05-01
- Updated
- Not recorded
- Source last checked
- No source-level check date
- Record last verified
- 2026-07-26
- Dossier created
- 2026-08-22
- Retrieved copy
- No local capture recorded
- Archive
- No archived copy linked
- Content hash
- No captured content hash
- Locator
- Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Open the recorded source note
Nigerian daily; the only source naming the covered areas — Ajeromi-Ifelodun, Alimosho, Amuwo-Odofin, Apapa, Kosofe, Ojo and Somolu — and the LASRRA register's use for identifying beneficiaries, who pay nothing. Caution: the fetched body stated 'seven' but listed only six, the seventh (Somolu) appearing in the indexed version; the list should be re-checked against a Lagos State document when one is published.
Nairametrics — Africa Re and insurance consortium power Lagos flood risk insurance initiative
- Stable source ID
src-aa0dba4115642e09- Publisher
- Name not classified · nairametrics.com
- Type / language
- web-page · language not classified
- Published
- Not recorded
- Updated
- Not recorded
- Source last checked
- No source-level check date
- Record last verified
- 2026-07-26
- Dossier created
- 2026-08-22
- Retrieved copy
- No local capture recorded
- Archive
- No archived copy linked
- Content hash
- No captured content hash
- Locator
- Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Open the recorded source note
Covers the public launch ceremony of 29 April 2026 — the same policy, not a second scheme — and adds Africa Re as lead technical reinsurance partner, which the March releases omit. This is also where the 'sub-Saharan Africa's first' framing originates; it is the outlet's and the consortium's wording, not an independently established fact.
- Claims linked
African Risk Capacity — first flood risk insurance product in Africa (Madagascar)
- Stable source ID
src-c691d8ba58ba6849- Publisher
- Name not classified · arc.int
- Type / language
- web-page · language not classified
- Published
- Not recorded
- Updated
- Not recorded
- Source last checked
- No source-level check date
- Record last verified
- 2026-07-26
- Dossier created
- 2026-08-22
- Retrieved copy
- No local capture recorded
- Archive
- No archived copy linked
- Content hash
- No captured content hash
- Locator
- Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Open the recorded source note
Used as a counterweight to the 'first in sub-Saharan Africa' claim: ARC Ltd wrote a sovereign parametric flood policy for Madagascar, signed January 2026, before Lagos. Lagos's defensible distinction is being sub-sovereign, at state rather than national level.
- Claims linked
- Background source; no baseline claim points here
UNDP Nigeria — launch of the Flood Risk Insurance project (18 May 2023)
- Stable source ID
src-70e5bdc452e96667- Publisher
- Name not classified · undp.org
- Type / language
- web-page · language not classified
- Published
- 2023-05-18
- Updated
- Not recorded
- Source last checked
- No source-level check date
- Record last verified
- 2026-07-26
- Dossier created
- 2026-08-22
- Retrieved copy
- No local capture recorded
- Archive
- No archived copy linked
- Content hash
- No captured content hash
- Locator
- Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Open the recorded source note
Establishes that the work began with a kick-off workshop in May 2023 and that both rainfall and flood indices were originally on the table, which is how the eventual satellite-footprint trigger can be dated as a design choice rather than a given. Covers pluvial, fluvial and coastal flooding.
- Claims linked
- Background source; no baseline claim points here
Insurance Development Forum — technical report on the Lagos State parametric flood scheme (public version)
- Stable source ID
src-0aaaea9dd72323e5- Publisher
- Name not classified · insdevforum.org
- Type / language
- pdf · language not classified
- Published
- Not recorded
- Updated
- Not recorded
- Source last checked
- No source-level check date
- Record last verified
- 2026-07-26
- Dossier created
- 2026-08-22
- Retrieved copy
- No local capture recorded
- Archive
- No archived copy linked
- Content hash
- No captured content hash
- Locator
- Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Open the recorded source note
FETCH FAILED — the PDF returned an empty body over both http and https on 26 July 2026 and could not be read. Listed because it is the one public document likely to contain the index definition, payout ladder and basis-risk analysis; every claim in this entry is sourced without it, and a future check should retry it.
- Claims linked
Known limits of this passport
- Publisher names and source languages have not yet been classified; domains are recorded without guessing.
- Existing source notes are descriptive locators, not page- or paragraph-exact citations.
- A missing archive, publication date or content hash is shown as null rather than inferred.
- The project-level evidence grade ranks the strongest source in the entry; it is not a truth score for every claim.
Continue exploring
Compare this project
Explore the wider context
📎 Cite this project
1001 Smart Cities (2026). “Lagos State Parametric Flood Insurance Policy” — Lagos, Nigeria. The Smart City Atlas. https://1001smartcities.org/projects/lagos-parametric-flood-insurance/ (last verified 2026-07-26). Data: CC BY 4.0.
The underlying data is free to reuse with attribution — see the open data page.
