Permanent project revision

Lagos State Parametric Flood Insurance Policy

Revision 2026-08-21-source-dates · effective 2026-07-26

Current revision. This is the snapshot used by the live entity page.

unreviewed

Record the publication date of each source that states one; a source that publishes no date is marked null, and one that shows only a revision carries `updated` instead.

sha256:6f4b69eb176c658ce8f66984391bf5cb76a6b44ffecd7eeeaca398d3ff4b703c

Change set

  • replace /snapshot/projectFingerprint — Updated projectFingerprint to the current sourced project record.
  • replace /snapshot/sources — Updated sources to the current sourced project record.
11
of 11 claims mapped
10
source dossiers
6
publication dates recorded
0
archives linked
0
exact locators
0
content captures hashed

Claims, one by one

The text below is copied verbatim from the published record. Each claim names the source dossiers that carry it; caveats stay attached to the claim they qualify.

Claim 1 clm-ea34b7615574e338 quantitative
Since 26 March 2026 Lagos State has held a parametric flood insurance policy: instead of assessing damage after a flood, the contract pays when satellite-observed flood extent crosses an agreed threshold, so money moves without a loss adjuster
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
The joint announcement dates the go-live to 26 March 2026 and describes a three-year term. The design milestone eight months earlier states that the trigger is 'pre-agreed flood triggers based on satellite flood footprint data'.
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. UNDP Insurance and Risk Finance Facility — Lagos State goes live with parametric flood insurance policy
  2. UNDP IRFF — parametric flood insurance solution designed for Lagos State (21 July 2025)
Claim 2 clm-812cb695c62a0f3d descriptive
ICEYE radar satellites supply the flood footprints, JBA Risk Management built the model, AXA Mansard fronts the risk in Nigeria, and Swiss Re, African Risk Capacity Ltd and Africa Re carry it
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
The joint announcement carries the full partner list; the independent risk-transfer trade press corroborates AXA Mansard fronting with Swiss Re and African Risk Capacity Ltd carrying the risk; the launch-ceremony report adds Africa Re as lead technical reinsurance partner, which the March releases omit.
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. UNDP Insurance and Risk Finance Facility — Lagos State goes live with parametric flood insurance policy
  2. Artemis — Lagos State secures up to US$7.5m parametric flood insurance coverage
  3. Nairametrics — Africa Re and insurance consortium power Lagos flood risk insurance initiative
Claim 3 clm-28fa9c60bda07c43 quantitative
Cover runs to US$7.5 million per event across seven of the state's twenty local government areas
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
The joint announcement gives the US$7.5m limit across seven local government areas. The Nigerian daily is the only source naming them: Ajeromi-Ifelodun, Alimosho, Amuwo-Odofin, Apapa, Kosofe, Ojo and Somolu.
Caveat
The fetched body of the Punch article stated 'seven' but listed only six, the seventh appearing in the indexed version; the list should be re-checked against a Lagos State document when one is published.

Sources carrying this claim

  1. UNDP Insurance and Risk Finance Facility — Lagos State goes live with parametric flood insurance policy
  2. Punch — Lagos targets four million residents with $7.5m flood insurance scheme
Claim 4 clm-94eaea7f101d542f descriptive
The trigger thresholds are undisclosed, so no resident can check whether a flood should have paid
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
Neither the go-live announcement nor the design milestone discloses a numerical threshold. The one public document likely to contain the index definition, payout ladder and basis-risk analysis could not be read: the technical report's PDF returned an empty body over both http and https on 26 July 2026.
Caveat
The technical report is listed precisely because it is the document that would settle this; every claim in the entry is sourced without it, and a future check should retry it.

Sources carrying this claim

  1. UNDP Insurance and Risk Finance Facility — Lagos State goes live with parametric flood insurance policy
  2. UNDP IRFF — parametric flood insurance solution designed for Lagos State (21 July 2025)
  3. Insurance Development Forum — technical report on the Lagos State parametric flood scheme (public version)
Claim 5 clm-9b14d5a6a015b961 quantitative
The premium is undisclosed, and Germany's InsuResilience Solutions Fund paid 90 per cent of the first year and keeps co-financing years two and three, so Lagos has never carried the full cost
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
The premium financier's own release states it covered 90 per cent of the first-year premium, with Lagos State committing to more than 10 per cent in years two and three while the fund continues to co-finance, and does not disclose the premium amount. The independent trade press explicitly notes that the premium is not disclosed.
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. InsuResilience Solutions Fund — Lagos State goes live with parametric flood insurance policy
  2. Artemis — Lagos State secures up to US$7.5m parametric flood insurance coverage
Claim 6 clm-eb66514fc439966e quantitative
as of late July 2026, in the middle of the rainy season, no payout has been reported
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
No payout appears in the joint announcement, in the risk-transfer trade coverage, or in any other source reached in this review as of 26 July 2026.
Caveat
A dated negative finding with a built-in expiry: the entry should be re-checked after the rainy season, around November 2026.

Sources carrying this claim

  1. UNDP Insurance and Risk Finance Facility — Lagos State goes live with parametric flood insurance policy
  2. Artemis — Lagos State secures up to US$7.5m parametric flood insurance coverage
Claim 7 clm-c61947377769b871 descriptive
Money would go to the state, which has undertaken to spend it on relief and cash transfers under its Flood Contingency Plan, identifying recipients through the LASRRA resident register
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
The joint announcement confirms payouts go to the state for relief and cash transfers under the Lagos Flood Contingency Plan. The Nigerian daily is the source for the use of the LASRRA register to identify beneficiaries, who pay nothing.
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. UNDP Insurance and Risk Finance Facility — Lagos State goes live with parametric flood insurance policy
  2. Punch — Lagos targets four million residents with $7.5m flood insurance scheme
Claim 8 clm-f3c66bf62b8d3a7b quantitative
UNDP's Insurance and Risk Finance Facility and the InsuResilience Solutions Fund state cover of up to US$7.5 million per flood event across seven local government areas, and a protected population of "up to 4 million" — a headcount of those areas rather than a register of insured people
Published field
impact · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
Both releases carry the US$7.5m per-event limit, the seven local government areas and the 'up to 4 million' figure. Neither describes a register of insured individuals; the contract pays the state.
Caveat
Donor-insurer consortium announcements, not an independent review. The reading of the four million as a headcount rather than a policyholder list is the entry's own, drawn from the absence of any insured register in the sources.

Sources carrying this claim

  1. UNDP Insurance and Risk Finance Facility — Lagos State goes live with parametric flood insurance policy
  2. InsuResilience Solutions Fund — Lagos State goes live with parametric flood insurance policy
Claim 9 clm-019099bcf8914e1f descriptive
ICEYE's Mike Bennett told business a.m. that radar flood observations reduce basis risk compared with rain or river gauges and that payment should take under a month — a supplier statement about an untested policy, not a measured result
Published field
impact · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
The most technically specific source found: ICEYE's Mike Bennett describes synthetic aperture radar flood observation rather than proxy rain or river gauges, argues it lowers basis risk, and says the cover targets severe and catastrophic events rather than routine flooding.
Caveat
A supplier account of a policy that has not yet paid out, used as such.

Sources carrying this claim

  1. business a.m. — Flood insurance payouts can be delivered in weeks, not years (20 April 2026)
Claim 10 clm-d1bd28e98fa1d2a9 descriptive
that only converts into accountability if the parameters are public and the money is traceable
Published field
lesson · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
Neither the threshold nor the premium is disclosed in any released document, the technical report that would carry the index definition could not be read, and the contract pays the state rather than the flooded household — so neither the trigger nor the destination of the money can be checked from outside.
Caveat
This is the entry's argument, built on three documented absences rather than on a statement by any source.

Sources carrying this claim

  1. UNDP Insurance and Risk Finance Facility — Lagos State goes live with parametric flood insurance policy
  2. InsuResilience Solutions Fund — Lagos State goes live with parametric flood insurance policy
  3. Insurance Development Forum — technical report on the Lagos State parametric flood scheme (public version)
Claim 11 clm-24cb2031efb1e1cc quantitative
the contract pays the state rather than the flooded household, so the four million people in the headline are beneficiaries by policy intention, not by contract
Published field
lesson · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
The joint announcement states that payouts go to the state for relief and cash transfers under the Flood Contingency Plan; the Nigerian daily records that beneficiaries pay nothing and are identified through the resident register. No source describes an insured-person register or an individual entitlement.
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. UNDP Insurance and Risk Finance Facility — Lagos State goes live with parametric flood insurance policy
  2. Punch — Lagos targets four million residents with $7.5m flood insurance scheme

Source dossiers and revision state

This layer records what is known about each source, what is still missing, and the exact snapshot this page is rendering. A missing date, archive or hash stays visible as missing.

unreviewed Revision 2026-08-21-source-dates effective 2026-07-26 · created 2026-08-22

Awaiting operator and domain-expert review; publication of this revision implies neither.

sha256:6f4b69eb176c658ce8f66984391bf5cb76a6b44ffecd7eeeaca398d3ff4b703c
11
of 11 claims mapped
10
source dossiers
6
publication dates recorded
0
archives linked
0
exact locators
0
content captures hashed

Governance facts carried by the record

Operator
Lagos State Government (policyholder; Office of the Sustainable Development Goals with the Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Budget and Economic Planning and LASEMA), fronted by AXA Mansard
Actor types
regional-government, private
Funding model
mixed
Funding description
InsuResilience Solutions Fund (German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development) financed 90 per cent of the first-year premium; Lagos State funded the remainder and is committed to a larger share in years two and three
Cost
Not recorded
Ownership
Not recorded
Decision rights
Not recorded
Exit conditions
Not recorded

10 source dossiers

UNDP Insurance and Risk Finance Facility — Lagos State goes live with parametric flood insurance policy irff.undp.org · 9 linked claims

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-7f014b949e93363e
Publisher
Name not classified · irff.undp.org
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
Not recorded
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Primary joint announcement. Verifies the 26 March 2026 go-live, the US$7.5m limit, seven local government areas, up to 4 million people, the full partner list, and the three-year term. Confirms payouts go to the state for relief and cash transfers under the Lagos Flood Contingency Plan. States no trigger threshold.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
InsuResilience Solutions Fund — Lagos State goes live with parametric flood insurance policy insuresilience-solutions-fund.org · 3 linked claims

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-1634b4305b337824
Publisher
Name not classified · insuresilience-solutions-fund.org
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2026-03-26
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

The premium financier's own release, and the source for the premium split: 90 per cent of year one from ISF, with Lagos State committing to more than 10 per cent in years two and three while ISF continues to co-finance. Names the Lagos agencies involved (SDG office, Finance, Budget and Economic Planning, LASEMA). Does not disclose the premium amount.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
UNDP IRFF — parametric flood insurance solution designed for Lagos State (21 July 2025) irff.undp.org · 2 linked claims

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-05c13afd9fd3db56
Publisher
Name not classified · irff.undp.org
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2025-07-21
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Design milestone eight months before go-live. Verifies that the trigger is 'pre-agreed flood triggers based on satellite flood footprint data', that regulatory approval was obtained, and that premium financing was still outstanding at that point. Discloses no numerical threshold.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
business a.m. — Flood insurance payouts can be delivered in weeks, not years (20 April 2026) businessamlive.com · 1 linked claim

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-af4b906cdd6a3de4
Publisher
Name not classified · businessamlive.com
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2026-04-20
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

The most technically specific source found. ICEYE's Mike Bennett describes synthetic aperture radar flood observation rather than proxy rain or river gauges, argues it lowers basis risk, and says the cover targets severe and catastrophic events, not routine flooding. A supplier account, used as such.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Artemis — Lagos State secures up to US$7.5m parametric flood insurance coverage artemis.bm · 3 linked claims

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-6fcecd03401dde3f
Publisher
Name not classified · artemis.bm
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2026-03-27
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Independent risk-transfer trade press, corroborates the limit, the 90 per cent first-year premium finance, the three-year structure and the risk carriers (AXA Mansard fronting, Swiss Re and African Risk Capacity Ltd). Explicitly notes the premium is not disclosed.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Punch — Lagos targets four million residents with $7.5m flood insurance scheme punchng.com · 3 linked claims

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-7b2ca8ae30a4436e
Publisher
Name not classified · punchng.com
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2026-05-01
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Nigerian daily; the only source naming the covered areas — Ajeromi-Ifelodun, Alimosho, Amuwo-Odofin, Apapa, Kosofe, Ojo and Somolu — and the LASRRA register's use for identifying beneficiaries, who pay nothing. Caution: the fetched body stated 'seven' but listed only six, the seventh (Somolu) appearing in the indexed version; the list should be re-checked against a Lagos State document when one is published.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Nairametrics — Africa Re and insurance consortium power Lagos flood risk insurance initiative nairametrics.com · 1 linked claim

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-aa0dba4115642e09
Publisher
Name not classified · nairametrics.com
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
Not recorded
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Covers the public launch ceremony of 29 April 2026 — the same policy, not a second scheme — and adds Africa Re as lead technical reinsurance partner, which the March releases omit. This is also where the 'sub-Saharan Africa's first' framing originates; it is the outlet's and the consortium's wording, not an independently established fact.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
African Risk Capacity — first flood risk insurance product in Africa (Madagascar) arc.int · background

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-c691d8ba58ba6849
Publisher
Name not classified · arc.int
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
Not recorded
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Used as a counterweight to the 'first in sub-Saharan Africa' claim: ARC Ltd wrote a sovereign parametric flood policy for Madagascar, signed January 2026, before Lagos. Lagos's defensible distinction is being sub-sovereign, at state rather than national level.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Claims linked
Background source; no baseline claim points here
UNDP Nigeria — launch of the Flood Risk Insurance project (18 May 2023) undp.org · background

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-70e5bdc452e96667
Publisher
Name not classified · undp.org
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2023-05-18
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Establishes that the work began with a kick-off workshop in May 2023 and that both rainfall and flood indices were originally on the table, which is how the eventual satellite-footprint trigger can be dated as a design choice rather than a given. Covers pluvial, fluvial and coastal flooding.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Claims linked
Background source; no baseline claim points here
Insurance Development Forum — technical report on the Lagos State parametric flood scheme (public version) insdevforum.org · 2 linked claims

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-0aaaea9dd72323e5
Publisher
Name not classified · insdevforum.org
Type / language
pdf · language not classified
Published
Not recorded
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

FETCH FAILED — the PDF returned an empty body over both http and https on 26 July 2026 and could not be read. Listed because it is the one public document likely to contain the index definition, payout ladder and basis-risk analysis; every claim in this entry is sourced without it, and a future check should retry it.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Known limits of this passport
  • Publisher names and source languages have not yet been classified; domains are recorded without guessing.
  • Existing source notes are descriptive locators, not page- or paragraph-exact citations.
  • A missing archive, publication date or content hash is shown as null rather than inferred.
  • The project-level evidence grade ranks the strongest source in the entry; it is not a truth score for every claim.