bip! — Santiago's Fare Card and Its Published Evasion Index

🤖 AI-generated summary · ◆ 5 sourced claims · 🔎 Last verified

This overview was generated with AI from the public sources listed below and checked against them before publication. It has not had a complete human fact-check — treat it as a starting point and follow the sources.

5 sourced claims on this page, none individually verified yet — turn on “Sources in the text” to see each one.

How this atlas is made · What “last verified” means · What “source-checked” means · The full record behind this page

Most fare systems publish ridership. Santiago publishes the trips nobody paid for: an evasion index that put unpaid bus boardings at 34.9 percent, and travel tables that exclude them.

Evidence🏛️ Official
what does this mean?The strongest source is the operator's or the city's own reporting — an official report, dataset or press release. It grades who did the looking — not how well the project went. All four grades →
Scale🗺️ Regional

Part of 1001 Smart Cities — 1,167 documented projects · 🏙️ 9 more in Santiago · 🎫 Smart ticketing guide · 🚲 Mobility projects

Santiago's integrated fare card arrived with the Transantiago restructuring in February 2007, when bip! became the single means of access to buses, Metro and later the Nos commuter train; one tap still buys up to two transfers within 120 minutes. Collection was tendered in 2005 to the Administrador Financiero de Transantiago, a consortium of four banks with Sonda and CMR Falabella, a model Diario Financiero reports ended with a 2022 retendering. What sets Santiago apart is that the authority measures how often the fare is not paid, and publishes it: the Directorio de Transporte Publico Metropolitano issues a semiannual evasion index for Red Movilidad buses under a method fixed by ministerial resolution. It put unpaid boardings at 45.8 percent in the first half of 2023 and 34.9 percent in the second half of 2025. The same directorate publishes origin-destination matrices built from bip! taps and bus GPS, and states that those tables exclude the journeys nobody paid for. The card's monopoly is going: QR payment by phone app has taken a large share of validations, and since 13 February 2026 contactless Visa and Mastercard cards, wallets and smartwatches open Metro and Tren Nos gates. Buses follow at the end of 2026, reduced fares not at all for now.

Live 📅 since 2007

📊 Impact

DTPM's semiannual index of unpaid boardings on Red Movilidad buses fell from 45.8 percent in the first half of 2023 to 37.5 percent in the second half of 2024 and 34.9 percent in the second half of 2025, the fifth consecutive fall. Enforcement rose alongside it: the ministry reports roughly 520,000 evasion checks during 2025 and more than 400 monitored paid zones, plus 1,000 additional rear-door validators extending a 615-bus pilot begun in June 2024 toward 28 percent of the fleet by March 2026. In July 2025 the directorate reported 330 million bus validations for January to June, 4.7 percent more than a year earlier, alongside more than 283,000 controls with Carabineros and about 27,000 citations to local police courts. Diario Financiero reported on 19 July 2026 that bip! had fallen to 63 percent of validations from 93 percent in 2022, with QR at 29 percent and bank cards at 8 percent, and that 2,153,005 cards were manufactured in 2025.

🎓 Lesson

Taps are the dataset, and on Santiago's buses roughly a third of boardings never become one. The authority's answer is to measure the gap by a separate published method rather than infer ridership from the card alone, and to say in the open-data tables themselves that they exclude the trips nobody paid for.

Sources

↗ DTPM — Indice de Evasion (authority)The load-bearing source for the spine. Lists the semiannual evasion reports from the first half of 2022 through the second half of 2025 and names the methodology as fixed by Ministry of Transport resolutions 2853/2022 and 2658/2023. The report title confirms the index covers buses only. The underlying PDF (dtpm.cl/archivos/Evasion 2023.pdf) downloaded but could not be parsed by the fetch tool, so no sampling or field-method detail is claimed here.
↗ Red Movilidad / MTT — fifth consecutive fall in evasion (authority)Published 22 January 2026Source of the 34.9 percent figure for the second half of 2025, the fifth consecutive decrease, and the 45.8 percent 2023 baseline. Also the enforcement figures: roughly 520,000 evasion checks in 2025, more than 400 monitored paid zones, 1,000 extra rear-door validators extending the June 2024 pilot of 615 buses toward 28 percent of the fleet by March 2026, and a bill sent to Congress. The parallel MTT page at mtt.gob.cl/archivos/38283 returned 503.
↗ Sochitran — fare evasion in metropolitan public transport (29 May 2025)Chilean transport engineering society. Gives 37.5 percent for the second half of 2024 and states it is 8.3 points below the index for the first half of 2023, which is how the 45.8 percent figure is placed in the first half of 2023 rather than the year as a whole. Confirms the semiannual reporting interval. Does not describe the field methodology.
↗ DTPM — validations rose 4.7 percent in the first half of 2025 (authority)Announced by the transport minister on 7 July 2025. Source of the 330 million bus validations for January to June 2025 and the 4.7 percent year-on-year rise, plus more than 283,000 controls carried out with Carabineros and about 27,000 citations to local police courts for non-payment. The period the control figures cover is stated loosely in the original, so the entry attributes them to the July 2025 report rather than to a fixed period.
↗ DTPM — Matrices de Viaje (authority, the data layer)Confirms the published data layer is real and derived from the card: trip tables, stage tables and boarding/alighting tables by stop or station in 30-minute periods, built from GPS and from 'uso del medio de acceso (tarjeta bip! y otros medios de pago)', covering 2011 to the week of 11-17 April 2026. Also carries the entry's key admission that the tables exclude unregistered, that is evaded, journeys. The dtpm.gob.cl mirror of this page returned 503; dtpm.cl serves it.
Show 6 more sourcesShow fewer
↗ EFE Trenes de Chile — bank card payment begins on Metro and Tren Nos (state rail operator)Published 12 February 2026Primary source for the open-loop launch: Pago Agil live 13 February 2026 on Metro de Santiago and Tren Nos-Estacion Central, 48 turnstiles across 10 stations, Visa and Mastercard debit, credit and prepaid in physical, digital wallet and smartwatch form, same fares as bip!, transfers preserved only if the same device is used, buses in a second phase at year-end, and the minister's statement that benefit fares are not included for now. The Ministry of Transport's own page on the same launch (mtt.gob.cl) returned 503.
↗ Red Movilidad — all accepted means of payment (operator)Published 28 July 2023Confirms the fare products in force in 2026: bip!, the student card TNE and senior card TAM, QR payment through mobile apps and a BancoEstado virtual ticket, and the rule that one fare covers bus, Metro and Tren Nos with transfers within two hours. Also lists the 19 recharge channels, including the Metro MUV wallet.
↗ Diario Financiero — the slow retreat of the bip! card (19 July 2026)Press, and the only source located for the payment-mix shares: bip! 63 percent of validations, QR 29 percent, bank cards 8 percent in 2026, against bip! 93 percent and QR 7 percent in 2022; 2,153,005 cards manufactured in 2025 against 2,168,000 sold in 2024. Also the source for AFT's shareholding (BancoEstado 21 percent, Banco de Chile 20, BCI 20, Santander 20, Sonda 9.5, CMR Falabella 9.5) and for the statement that a 2022 retendering of Red Movilidad's collection system ended the AFT-led model. It does not name the current collection contractor.
↗ DTPM — Historia del Sistema (authority)Basis for yearStart: the system began operating in February 2007, integrating urban buses with Metro under one electronic payment system, with bip! as the single means of access, and records that financial administration services were tendered in 2005.
↗ DTPM — AFT contract file (authority)The contract file itself, listing the AFT contract and its resolutions and modifications from 2012 to 2023. It does not state a termination date or name a successor, which is why the entry attributes the end of the AFT model to Diario Financiero rather than asserting it as an official fact.
↗ Al Jazeera — what prompted the Chile protests (30 October 2019)Context only, kept short and factual: a 30-peso rise in the peak Metro fare in early October 2019 was met by organised mass turnstile-jumping by students, and the escalation led to a state of emergency. Used for the fare rise and the evasion protests; no station damage count is claimed, as this source gives none.

📅 How old is the evidence?

Two clocks, kept apart: when this entry’s sources were published, and what has happened to its record in the atlas. Documented span: since 2007. 5 of 11 sources carry a publication date, from 30 October 2019 to 19 July 2026.

When the sources were published

  1. Al Jazeera · pressAl Jazeera — what prompted the Chile protests (30 October 2019)
  2. Red Movilidad (DTPM) · operatorRed Movilidad — all accepted means of payment (operator)
  3. Red Movilidad (DTPM) · operatorRed Movilidad / MTT — fifth consecutive fall in evasion (authority)
  4. Empresa de los Ferrocarriles del Estado (EFE) · operatorEFE Trenes de Chile — bank card payment begins on Metro and Tren Nos (state rail operator)
  5. Diario Financiero · pressDiario Financiero — the slow retreat of the bip! card (19 July 2026)

Every source, with links ↑

What happened to this record

  1. Sources last read
  2. Entered the record

Every revision, permanent →

Show your work What this page rests on and what it can’t tell you · all 5 claims with their sources · the forensic record

Evidence Passport · public beta 5 addressable claims, 11 source dossiers, one permanent baseline. The passport is unreviewed — an AI-assisted structural migration, not a human or expert endorsement. Every revision keeps a permanent copy under revision history.

Inspect the claims, one by one — verbatim text, sources and caveats for all 5

The text below is copied verbatim from the published record. Each claim names the source dossiers that carry it; caveats stay attached to the claim they qualify.

Claim 1 clm-6179ee08c26d15b6 quantitative
It put unpaid boardings at 45.8 percent in the first half of 2023 and 34.9 percent in the second half of 2025
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
The authority's notice announces the fifth consecutive fall in the evasion index; the index page itself publishes the semiannual series the entry reads the two figures from.
Caveat
Authority self-measurement under a method the ministry fixed itself.

Sources carrying this claim

  1. Red Movilidad / MTT — fifth consecutive fall in evasion (authority)
  2. DTPM — Indice de Evasion (authority)
Claim 2 clm-5deca3166ecb3434 quantitative
since 13 February 2026 contactless Visa and Mastercard cards, wallets and smartwatches open Metro and Tren Nos gates
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
The state rail operator's notice dates the start of bank-card payment on the Metro and Tren Nos to Friday 13 February 2026, and says buses follow in a second stage at the end of the year.
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. EFE Trenes de Chile — bank card payment begins on Metro and Tren Nos (state rail operator)
Claim 3 clm-a998022049eec3bc quantitative
DTPM's semiannual index of unpaid boardings on Red Movilidad buses fell from 45.8 percent in the first half of 2023 to 37.5 percent in the second half of 2024 and 34.9 percent in the second half of 2025, the fifth consecutive fall
Published field
impact · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
The authority's index page publishes each semester as its own release, including the second half of 2025 the entry ends the series on; the ministry notice supplies the 'fifth consecutive fall' framing.
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. DTPM — Indice de Evasion (authority)
  2. Red Movilidad / MTT — fifth consecutive fall in evasion (authority)
Claim 4 clm-52c3cb30610bb5e1 quantitative
Diario Financiero reported on 19 July 2026 that bip! had fallen to 63 percent of validations from 93 percent in 2022, with QR at 29 percent and bank cards at 8 percent
Published field
impact · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
All three shares stand in one sentence of the 19 July 2026 report.
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. Diario Financiero — the slow retreat of the bip! card (19 July 2026)
Claim 5 clm-02ffbe51fd17593d descriptive
The authority's answer is to measure the gap by a separate published method rather than infer ridership from the card alone
Published field
lesson · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
The origin-destination tables state their own method and limits, and the evasion index is published separately from them — the two-track approach the lesson describes.
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. DTPM — Matrices de Viaje (authority, the data layer)
  2. DTPM — Indice de Evasion (authority)
Forensic record — source dossiers, gaps, hashes and the exact revision this page renders

This layer records what is known about each source, what is still missing, and the exact snapshot this page is rendering. A missing date, archive or hash stays visible as missing.

unreviewed Revision 2026-08-20-evidence-baseline effective 2026-07-26 · created 2026-08-20

Awaiting operator and domain-expert review; publication of this revision implies neither.

sha256:c38804536b477e7f74bc32f6486e0b4822740f6f6b51913d8f75698b0d67d3b4
5
of 5 claims mapped
11
source dossiers
5
publication dates recorded
0
archives linked
0
exact locators
0
content captures hashed

Governance facts carried by the record

Operator
Directorio de Transporte Publico Metropolitano (DTPM), Ministry of Transport and Telecommunications
Actor types
utility
Funding model
public
Funding description
Not recorded
Cost
Not recorded
Ownership
Not recorded
Decision rights
Not recorded
Exit conditions
Not recorded

11 source dossiers

DTPM — Indice de Evasion (authority) dtpm.cl · 3 linked claims

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-b27fba65a65da144
Publisher
Name not classified · dtpm.cl
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
Not recorded
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-20
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

The load-bearing source for the spine. Lists the semiannual evasion reports from the first half of 2022 through the second half of 2025 and names the methodology as fixed by Ministry of Transport resolutions 2853/2022 and 2658/2023. The report title confirms the index covers buses only. The underlying PDF (dtpm.cl/archivos/Evasion 2023.pdf) downloaded but could not be parsed by the fetch tool, so no sampling or field-method detail is claimed here.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Red Movilidad / MTT — fifth consecutive fall in evasion (authority) red.cl · 2 linked claims

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-b310d397cf5017af
Publisher
Name not classified · red.cl
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2026-01-22
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-20
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Source of the 34.9 percent figure for the second half of 2025, the fifth consecutive decrease, and the 45.8 percent 2023 baseline. Also the enforcement figures: roughly 520,000 evasion checks in 2025, more than 400 monitored paid zones, 1,000 extra rear-door validators extending the June 2024 pilot of 615 buses toward 28 percent of the fleet by March 2026, and a bill sent to Congress. The parallel MTT page at mtt.gob.cl/archivos/38283 returned 503.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Sochitran — fare evasion in metropolitan public transport (29 May 2025) sochitran.cl · background

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-e87a00ee5db3ad07
Publisher
Name not classified · sochitran.cl
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
Not recorded
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-20
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Chilean transport engineering society. Gives 37.5 percent for the second half of 2024 and states it is 8.3 points below the index for the first half of 2023, which is how the 45.8 percent figure is placed in the first half of 2023 rather than the year as a whole. Confirms the semiannual reporting interval. Does not describe the field methodology.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Claims linked
Background source; no baseline claim points here
DTPM — validations rose 4.7 percent in the first half of 2025 (authority) dtpm.cl · background

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-e6905f90c1f31b1b
Publisher
Name not classified · dtpm.cl
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
Not recorded
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-20
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Announced by the transport minister on 7 July 2025. Source of the 330 million bus validations for January to June 2025 and the 4.7 percent year-on-year rise, plus more than 283,000 controls carried out with Carabineros and about 27,000 citations to local police courts for non-payment. The period the control figures cover is stated loosely in the original, so the entry attributes them to the July 2025 report rather than to a fixed period.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Claims linked
Background source; no baseline claim points here
DTPM — Matrices de Viaje (authority, the data layer) dtpm.cl · 1 linked claim

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-58756e2d203f493b
Publisher
Name not classified · dtpm.cl
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
Not recorded
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-20
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Confirms the published data layer is real and derived from the card: trip tables, stage tables and boarding/alighting tables by stop or station in 30-minute periods, built from GPS and from 'uso del medio de acceso (tarjeta bip! y otros medios de pago)', covering 2011 to the week of 11-17 April 2026. Also carries the entry's key admission that the tables exclude unregistered, that is evaded, journeys. The dtpm.gob.cl mirror of this page returned 503; dtpm.cl serves it.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
EFE Trenes de Chile — bank card payment begins on Metro and Tren Nos (state rail operator) efe.cl · 1 linked claim

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-1d8bf50019745a47
Publisher
Name not classified · efe.cl
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2026-02-12
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-20
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Primary source for the open-loop launch: Pago Agil live 13 February 2026 on Metro de Santiago and Tren Nos-Estacion Central, 48 turnstiles across 10 stations, Visa and Mastercard debit, credit and prepaid in physical, digital wallet and smartwatch form, same fares as bip!, transfers preserved only if the same device is used, buses in a second phase at year-end, and the minister's statement that benefit fares are not included for now. The Ministry of Transport's own page on the same launch (mtt.gob.cl) returned 503.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Red Movilidad — all accepted means of payment (operator) red.cl · background

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-8df5c0fbb1a3b378
Publisher
Name not classified · red.cl
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2023-07-28
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-20
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Confirms the fare products in force in 2026: bip!, the student card TNE and senior card TAM, QR payment through mobile apps and a BancoEstado virtual ticket, and the rule that one fare covers bus, Metro and Tren Nos with transfers within two hours. Also lists the 19 recharge channels, including the Metro MUV wallet.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Claims linked
Background source; no baseline claim points here
Diario Financiero — the slow retreat of the bip! card (19 July 2026) df.cl · 1 linked claim

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-9f45745a0857fa6f
Publisher
Name not classified · df.cl
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2026-07-19
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-20
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Press, and the only source located for the payment-mix shares: bip! 63 percent of validations, QR 29 percent, bank cards 8 percent in 2026, against bip! 93 percent and QR 7 percent in 2022; 2,153,005 cards manufactured in 2025 against 2,168,000 sold in 2024. Also the source for AFT's shareholding (BancoEstado 21 percent, Banco de Chile 20, BCI 20, Santander 20, Sonda 9.5, CMR Falabella 9.5) and for the statement that a 2022 retendering of Red Movilidad's collection system ended the AFT-led model. It does not name the current collection contractor.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
DTPM — Historia del Sistema (authority) dtpm.cl · background

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-020b118dc6a0b7e4
Publisher
Name not classified · dtpm.cl
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
Not recorded
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-20
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Basis for yearStart: the system began operating in February 2007, integrating urban buses with Metro under one electronic payment system, with bip! as the single means of access, and records that financial administration services were tendered in 2005.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Claims linked
Background source; no baseline claim points here
DTPM — AFT contract file (authority) dtpm.cl · background

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-b943124fe2d0f182
Publisher
Name not classified · dtpm.cl
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
Not recorded
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-20
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

The contract file itself, listing the AFT contract and its resolutions and modifications from 2012 to 2023. It does not state a termination date or name a successor, which is why the entry attributes the end of the AFT model to Diario Financiero rather than asserting it as an official fact.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Claims linked
Background source; no baseline claim points here
Al Jazeera — what prompted the Chile protests (30 October 2019) aljazeera.com · background

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-4d99742b3348eb90
Publisher
Name not classified · aljazeera.com
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2019-10-30
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-20
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Context only, kept short and factual: a 30-peso rise in the peak Metro fare in early October 2019 was met by organised mass turnstile-jumping by students, and the escalation led to a state of emergency. Used for the fare rise and the evasion protests; no station damage count is claimed, as this source gives none.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Claims linked
Background source; no baseline claim points here
Known limits of this passport
  • Publisher names and source languages have not yet been classified; domains are recorded without guessing.
  • Existing source notes are descriptive locators, not page- or paragraph-exact citations.
  • A missing archive, publication date or content hash is shown as null rather than inferred.
  • The project-level evidence grade ranks the strongest source in the entry; it is not a truth score for every claim.
📎 Cite this project

1001 Smart Cities (2026). “bip! — Santiago's Fare Card and Its Published Evasion Index” — Santiago, Chile. The Smart City Atlas. https://1001smartcities.org/projects/santiago-bip-card/ (last verified 2026-07-26). Data: CC BY 4.0.

The underlying data is free to reuse with attribution — see the open data page.

✉️ Get the next source-checked smart-city project in your inbox

One short email a week: the Landmark, one Insight, the new cities. No spam, one-click unsubscribe. About the newsletter · RSS