Permanent project revision

Open Bangkok: Data Catalogue & Policy Scorecard

Revision 2026-08-22-evidence-baseline · effective 2026-07-26

Current revision. This is the snapshot used by the live entity page.

unreviewed

Created the first structured Evidence Passport with 13 claims and 9 source dossiers.

sha256:5cd3304772c01562627741352aeba1c27c113337c3bf3fec2be574aef1096b89

Change set

  • add /evidencePassport — Added claim-level evidence mapping and source dossiers.
  • add /revisionHistory — Established a permanent, hash-addressed baseline revision.
13
of 13 claims mapped
9
source dossiers
5
publication dates recorded
0
archives linked
0
exact locators
0
content captures hashed

Claims, one by one

The text below is copied verbatim from the published record. Each claim names the source dossiers that carry it; caveats stay attached to the claim they qualify.

Claim 1 clm-18eacdd0ced836e1 quantitative
Since June 2022 the Bangkok Metropolitan Administration has published its own homework.
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
The PRD bulletin and the Blognone article date the start of BMA's public-disclosure push to 21 June 2022, when the city opened its draft fiscal-2023 budget for comment as the first move under the Open Bangkok policy launched by newly elected governor Chadchart Sittipunt. Bangkok Open Policy and the city's dataset catalogue are the two platforms through which that disclosure continues; both are still live and multi-paged (policy list, project search, budget explorer / dataset catalogue), consistent with ongoing publication. PRD and Blognone were reachable only via AI-mediated fetch summaries in this review, and data.bangkok.go.th / openpolicy.bangkok.go.th returned 503 / 403 outright, so no single verbatim substring anchoring 'since June 2022' could be pulled directly from either government site.
Caveat
Only the budget disclosure is independently dated to June 2022 by the listed sources. None of them gives a separate launch date for the dataset catalogue or for openpolicy.bangkok.go.th itself, so this sentence puts three different things — the budget release, the data catalogue and the policy tracker — under one date.

Sources carrying this claim

  1. Government Public Relations Department — the draft budget opened for comment
  2. Blognone — the budget released as machine-readable files
  3. Bangkok Open Policy
  4. Open Government Data of Bangkok
Claim 2 clm-6e3093252ca0c63e quantitative
It opened a draft 79-billion-baht budget for public comment
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
PRD's bulletin and independent Thai press coverage (e.g. Bangkok Biznews: 'ผ่าร่างงบฯ กทม.ปี 66 ยุค "ชัชชาติ" 7.9 หมื่นล้าน') confirm a draft fiscal-2023 Bangkok Metropolitan Administration budget of roughly 79,000 million baht (79 billion baht) was opened for public comment around 20-21 June 2022. Blognone's own article, whose byline reads 21 June 2022, reports the budget was released as machine-readable Excel spreadsheets plus PDF summaries the same week: 'ข้อมูลในรูปแบบ machine readable มีเผยแพร่แล้วเป็นไฟล์ Excel' ('data in machine-readable form has already been published as Excel files'). PRD's own page could not be fetched directly in this review (DNS timeout), so its exact wording is unconfirmed beyond the entry's own source note and secondary press corroboration.
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. Government Public Relations Department — the draft budget opened for comment
  2. Blognone — the budget released as machine-readable files
Claim 3 clm-dd1010ed4af3b3e5 quantitative
runs a catalogue of more than 900 datasets from 98 agencies
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
BIGGO Analytics, the contractor that built the city's catalogue, states on its own project page: '939 ชุดข้อมูล, 98 องค์กร, 26 หมวดหมู่' ('939 datasets, 98 organisations, 26 categories'). The entry rounds this down to 'more than 900' rather than using a higher, unverifiable figure the city's own PR channel has given elsewhere (1,106 datasets).
Caveat
The figure comes from the system's vendor describing its own build, not from an independently audited count; the city's own communications cite a different, higher number that could not be checked, which is why the entry uses the more conservative BIGGO figure.

Sources carrying this claim

  1. BIGGO Analytics — the catalogue's developer
  2. Open Government Data of Bangkok
Claim 4 clm-bb15db80fe8973e5 descriptive
operates openpolicy.bangkok.go.th, which tracks each campaign policy down to project and budget line
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
Bangkok Open Policy's own site structure — a policy list, a 'ค้นหาโครงการ' (project search) page, and a 'สำรวจการใช้งบ รายรายการ' page (literally 'explore budget use, item by item') — matches the claim of tracking down to project and budget-line level. Spring News (2 January 2026) confirms the platform shows 'origin, process and results' ('ต้นทาง กระบวนการ ผลลัพธ์') broken out across 50 districts and nine budget categories for fiscal years 2567-2568 (2024-2025). The Standard names openpolicy.bangkok.go.th as the place citizens can check the scorecard details.
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. Bangkok Open Policy
  2. Spring News — the policy platform in January 2026
  3. The Standard — the governor's policy roadmap (24 June 2026)
Claim 5 clm-868a3290ffb12a8b descriptive
The scorecard is self-graded
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
The only source for the 235-vs-216 figure in the source set is the governor's own campaign-trail statement, reported by The Standard under the headline 'ชัชชาติ กางผลงาน 4 ปี ย้ำทำทะลุเป้า 235 นโยบาย' ('Chadchart lays out four years of achievements, reaffirming he pushed past the target with 235 policies') four days before he won re-election. No independently audited tally of the 235/216 figures appears anywhere in the listed sources.
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. The Standard — the governor's policy roadmap (24 June 2026)
Claim 6 clm-c9403407b1a083ce quantitative
four days before the June 2026 election the governor said 235 policies were done or under way against 216 promised
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
The Standard, byline-dated 24 June 2026, quotes governor Chadchart: 'สามารถผลักดันนโยบายให้สำเร็จและอยู่ระหว่างดำเนินการได้ถึง 235 นโยบาย จากเดิมที่ตั้งเป้าไว้ 216 นโยบาย' ('managed to push 235 policies to completion or in progress, against an original target of 216 policies'). Khaosod English (and multiple other outlets covering the same day) confirm Chadchart won re-election as Bangkok governor on Sunday, 28 June 2026 — four days after the 24 June statement.
Caveat
The Thai wording is 'completed and in progress' (สำเร็จและอยู่ระหว่างดำเนินการ), not completed alone, which this passage correctly reflects with 'done or under way'.

Sources carrying this claim

  1. The Standard — the governor's policy roadmap (24 June 2026)
  2. Khaosod English — Chadchart wins a second term (28 June 2026)
Claim 7 clm-d221b27ba09f7d1c descriptive
The data is downloadable rather than licensed
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
The catalogue offers files for download; the entry's own source note says this was verified through indexed catalogue facets showing 'License not specified' on many listings, with no CC BY or equivalent deed found. Further search-indexing of the same portal in this review, however, turns up individual resource pages carrying the label 'Creative Commons Attributions' — for example the flood-risk-points dataset ('ข้อมูลจุดเสี่ยงและจุดเฝ้าระวังน้ำท่วม') and an elderly-welfare dataset — plus a dedicated reference page titled 'เอกสารอ้างอิงการใช้งานระบบข้อมูลเปิดกรุงเทพมหานคร' (license-type reference documentation) at data.bangkok.go.th/th/dataset/license_type. So the catalogue does not appear to be uniformly unlicensed: a large 'License not specified' facet exists alongside at least some CC BY-labelled datasets. data.bangkok.go.th answered every direct fetch attempt in this review with 503 (as it did for the original reviewer), so this could only be checked through Google's indexed snapshots, not by loading the pages directly.
Caveat
This is the entry's central claim and it may be overstated. Search-engine indexing of data.bangkok.go.th surfaces at least a handful of individual datasets tagged 'Creative Commons Attributions', which the original 'no CC BY... found in any source' verification did not catch. Most of the catalogue does appear to lack a stated license, but 'downloadable rather than licensed' as a blanket statement about the whole catalogue does not clearly hold.

Sources carrying this claim

  1. Open Government Data of Bangkok
Claim 8 clm-c382308cdf360c23 descriptive
the group that visualised the budget had to request the files from city offices
Published field
snippet · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
WeVis and HAND's own project page states: 'ทางทีมผู้พัฒนาได้ประสานขอใช้ข้อมูลจากสำนักงบประมาณกรุงเทพมหานครและสำนักงานการพัฒนาชุมชน' ('The development team coordinated to request data from Bangkok's Budget Office and Community Development Office'), confirming the team obtained the files by requesting them directly rather than downloading them as open data.
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. WeVis and HAND Social Enterprise — Bangkok Budgeting
Claim 9 clm-c5c0ee8681aec1db quantitative
235 policies completed or in progress against the 216 promised in 2022
Published field
impact · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
Restates the figure from the snippet claim in the impact field. The Standard's 24 June 2026 article is the sentence-level source for both the number pair and its 'completed or in progress' framing.
Caveat
The Standard's own text does not explicitly say the 216 target dates to 2022; that attribution rests on general knowledge that Chadchart's original policy platform was set during his 2022 gubernatorial campaign, rather than on a statement in this specific article.

Sources carrying this claim

  1. The Standard — the governor's policy roadmap (24 June 2026)
Claim 10 clm-a475137c9cc2dfae quantitative
a self-published figure, stated by the governor on 24 June 2026
Published field
impact · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
The Standard's article, byline-dated 24.06.2026, reports the figure as something governor Chadchart announced himself during a campaign presentation of his four-year record ('ชัชชาติ กางผลงาน 4 ปี') — matching the entry's characterisation as self-published.
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. The Standard — the governor's policy roadmap (24 June 2026)
Claim 11 clm-6d4f208d1892ccf2 descriptive
during the re-election campaign he won four days later
Published field
impact · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
Khaosod English reports Chadchart won re-election as Bangkok governor on Sunday, 28 June 2026 — four days after the 24 June 2026 statement dated by The Standard, confirming the 'four days later' arithmetic. Khaosod blocked automated fetching (403, confirmed again in this review); the 28 June 2026 date is confirmed through the article's own URL permalink (/2026/06/28/chadchart-wins-second-term...) and independently corroborated by several other outlets (The Diplomat, Time Out Bangkok, Thai Examiner, thailand.go.th) covering the same election day, though a verbatim quote could not be pulled from the Khaosod page itself.
Caveat
No claim-specific caveat recorded

Sources carrying this claim

  1. Khaosod English — Chadchart wins a second term (28 June 2026)
Claim 12 clm-1e81c6cffabeef99 descriptive
Publishing a scorecard is the cheap half of transparency
Published field
lesson · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
This is an editorial judgement built on the fact, established via the snippet/impact claims above, that the scorecard is a self-reported figure the governor announces on his own platform rather than something an outside body verifies. No source states this exact sentence; it follows from the governance pattern the sources document.
Caveat
This is the entry's own interpretive framing rather than a directly sourced quotation.

Sources carrying this claim

  1. The Standard — the governor's policy roadmap (24 June 2026)
  2. Bangkok Open Policy
Claim 13 clm-ab27aa3b58f5f981 descriptive
licensing the data so outsiders can check it is the half Bangkok has not done
Published field
lesson · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
Restates the snippet claims about licensing and the WeVis/HAND request experience: most of the catalogue's datasets appear to lack a stated license, and the WeVis/HAND team had to request budget files directly from city offices rather than download them under an open license.
Caveat
As with the parallel snippet claim, this is the entry's central thesis and the same caveat applies: search-engine indexing turns up at least some data.bangkok.go.th datasets carrying a 'Creative Commons Attributions' label, which sits uneasily with a blanket 'has not done' formulation. A more defensible version would qualify this as 'has not done consistently' rather than an absolute.

Sources carrying this claim

  1. Open Government Data of Bangkok
  2. WeVis and HAND Social Enterprise — Bangkok Budgeting

Source dossiers and revision state

This layer records what is known about each source, what is still missing, and the exact snapshot this page is rendering. A missing date, archive or hash stays visible as missing.

unreviewed Revision 2026-08-22-evidence-baseline effective 2026-07-26 · created 2026-08-22

Awaiting operator and domain-expert review; publication of this revision implies neither.

sha256:5cd3304772c01562627741352aeba1c27c113337c3bf3fec2be574aef1096b89
13
of 13 claims mapped
9
source dossiers
5
publication dates recorded
0
archives linked
0
exact locators
0
content captures hashed

Governance facts carried by the record

Operator
Bangkok Metropolitan Administration
Actor types
city-government
Funding model
public
Funding description
Not recorded
Cost
Not recorded
Ownership
Not recorded
Decision rights
Not recorded
Exit conditions
Not recorded

9 source dossiers

Bangkok Open Policy openpolicy.bangkok.go.th · 3 linked claims

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-6b09d7d007c1ce89
Publisher
Name not classified · openpolicy.bangkok.go.th
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
Not recorded
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

The city's own policy-disclosure platform: policy list, project search and a line-item budget explorer. Blocks automated fetching (403); verified through indexed sub-pages and press that cite the URL.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Open Government Data of Bangkok data.bangkok.go.th · 4 linked claims

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-5e49e282ab77f594
Publisher
Name not classified · data.bangkok.go.th
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
Not recorded
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

The city data catalogue itself. Blocks automated fetching (503, confirmed again by the managing editor). Indexed catalogue facets show datasets filed under 'License not specified', and no CC BY or equivalent deed was found in any source.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Government Public Relations Department — the draft budget opened for comment prd.go.th · 2 linked claims

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-13b1599983dccb13
Publisher
Name not classified · prd.go.th
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2022-06-21
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

21 June 2022: the city publishes its draft fiscal-2023 budget of 79,000 million baht for public comment under the Open Bangkok policy.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Blognone — the budget released as machine-readable files blognone.com · 2 linked claims

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-b5d0b1a76708b92b
Publisher
Name not classified · blognone.com
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2022-06-21
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

20 June 2022: the budget released as machine-readable spreadsheets plus PDF summaries, linked onward to the national data portal, with open contracting announced as the next step.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
The Standard — the governor's policy roadmap (24 June 2026) thestandard.co · 6 linked claims

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-97e88596a04176fc
Publisher
Name not classified · thestandard.co
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2026-06-24
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Sentence-level source for the scorecard figure: 235 policies completed or in progress against a 216 target, and names openpolicy.bangkok.go.th as the place citizens can check it. Note the Thai wording is 'completed and in progress', not completed alone.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Spring News — the policy platform in January 2026 springnews.co.th · 1 linked claim

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-f05f80a36139d788
Publisher
Name not classified · springnews.co.th
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2026-01-02
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Confirms the platform was still current in January 2026, showing origin, process and results across 50 districts and nine budget categories for fiscal 2024-2025.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
WeVis and HAND Social Enterprise — Bangkok Budgeting bangkokbudgeting.wevis.info · 2 linked claims

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-cdc168b23fc9b74a
Publisher
Name not classified · bangkokbudgeting.wevis.info
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
Not recorded
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Civic-tech reuse of city budget data, and the counterweight: the team obtained budget and procurement files by requesting them from the city budget office and community development office, not by downloading open data.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
BIGGO Analytics — the catalogue's developer biggoanalytics.com · 1 linked claim

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-b3b2e5da379cc40a
Publisher
Name not classified · biggoanalytics.com
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
Not recorded
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

The contractor that built the catalogue for the city states 939 datasets from 98 organisations across 26 categories. The city's own PR channel has given 1,106 datasets; that page could not be verified, so the entry says more than 900.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Khaosod English — Chadchart wins a second term (28 June 2026) khaosodenglish.com · 2 linked claims

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-df59d09439c2676b
Publisher
Name not classified · khaosodenglish.com
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2026-06-28
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-22
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Currency check: the governor was re-elected on 28 June 2026, so the administration behind the platform continues.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Known limits of this passport
  • Publisher names and source languages have not yet been classified; domains are recorded without guessing.
  • Existing source notes are descriptive locators, not page- or paragraph-exact citations.
  • A missing archive, publication date or content hash is shown as null rather than inferred.
  • The project-level evidence grade ranks the strongest source in the entry; it is not a truth score for every claim.