Toronto Automated Speed Enforcement (abolished by the province)

🤖 AI-generated summary · ◆ 1 sourced claim · 🔎 Last verified

This overview was generated with AI from the public sources listed below and checked against them before publication. It has not had a complete human fact-check — treat it as a starting point and follow the sources.

1 sourced claim on this page, none individually verified yet — turn on “Sources in the text” to see each one.

How this atlas is made · What “last verified” means · What “source-checked” means · The full record behind this page

Speeding fell 45% at camera sites in a peer-reviewed evaluation. Then vandals sawed 16 cameras down in one night, the province repealed the law, and speeds rose again at 101 of 104 measured sites.

Evidence🔬 Peer-reviewed
what does this mean?The strongest source behind this entry is an independent peer-reviewed or academic study. It grades who did the looking — not how well the project went. All four grades →
Scale🏙️ City-wide
CostCamera vendor contract target value ≈C$36.2M (2019-2031, terminated early)
FundingCity of Toronto; fine revenue offset programme costs, victim surcharge remitted to the province

Part of 1001 Smart Cities — 1,167 documented projects · 🏙️ 9 more in Toronto · 🛡️ Safety & security guide · 🚲 Mobility projects

Toronto began mailing automated speed enforcement tickets on 6 July 2020 and grew to 150 camera systems in signed, school-area Community Safety Zones; the notice went to the registered owner whoever was driving, and carried no demerit points. A SickKids and Toronto Metropolitan University study found speeding fell 45% at camera sites. Vandals sawed cameras down repeatedly — 16 in a single night in September 2025 — and Ontario's Bill 56 repealed the enabling law, stopping all ticketing on 14 November 2025.

Cancelled 📅 2020–2025

📊 Impact

Peer-reviewed evaluation across 204 camera locations (2020-2022): the proportion of vehicles speeding fell 45% (RR 0.55, 95% CI 0.49-0.61) and the 85th-percentile speed by 10.68 km/h. After the cameras were switched off, a City of Toronto report (June 2026) found speeds up at 101 of 104 measured sites, with the share of vehicles travelling 11 km/h or more over the limit rising from 2% to 8.1%.

🎓 Lesson

The threat to a working programme came from two directions at once: a provincial government that called the cameras a tax grab and repealed the statute under them, and residents who cut them down with saws. Neither disputed the measurements.

Sources

↗ City of Toronto — Automated Speed EnforcementPublished 20 January 2020Operator page. 'July 6, 2020: The City began issuing ASE tickets.' 'There were 150 ASE systems installed on local, collector and arterial roads in Community Safety Zones across the city.' 'the registered owner of the vehicle received a violation notice regardless of who was driving'; 'No demerit points were issued by the Ministry of Transportation and driving records were not affected.' 'As of November 14, 2025, Automated Speed Enforcement (ASE) penalty orders are no longer issued in accordance with provincial legislation.' Also dates the enabling regulations to 2 December 2019.
↗ Legislative Assembly of Ontario — Bill 56, Building a More Competitive Economy Act, 2025Published 4 June 2025Primary legislation, Royal Assent received, S.O. 2025 c. 11; sponsor Hon. Andrea Khanjin, Minister of Red Tape Reduction. Schedule 5 (Highway Traffic Act): 'Part XIV.1 of the Act is repealed'. Section 206.6: 'no cause of action arises against a municipality ... as a direct or indirect result of the breach, termination or frustration of a contract ... that occurs following the repeal of Part XIV.1.'
↗ Injury Prevention (2025) — Automated speed enforcement reduced vehicle speeds in school zones in TorontoPublished 24 July 2025Peer-reviewed, prospective quasi-experimental study by SickKids, University of Toronto, York University, Toronto Metropolitan University and INRS — independent of the city. 'Proportion of vehicles speeding dropped by 45% (RR: 0.55, 95% CI: 0.49, 0.61)' and '85th percentile speed dropped by 10.68 km/hour (95% CI: -11.48, -9.88)'.
↗ City of Toronto — ASE data highlight significant speed reduction impactPublished 11 July 2023City summary of the same SickKids/TMU study: data 'from January 2020 to December 2022 at 204 locations'; 'Excessive speeding ... was also reduced by 87 per cent'; 'the percentage of drivers exceeding the speed limit decreased at 80 per cent of locations'.
↗ Global News — Speeding increases in Toronto significantly after province turns off cameras (24 June 2026)Reports the city staff report: vehicle speeds increased at 101 of 104 locations measured; the proportion travelling 11 km/h or more over the posted limit rose from 2% to 8.1%. Mayor Olivia Chow: 'People are driving like it's a highway; it's a school zone for God's sake.' Province supplied $10 million through the Road Safety Initiative Fund for traffic calming instead.
Show 4 more sourcesShow fewer
↗ CP24 — Toronto's Parkside speed camera cut down for 7th time in less than a year (7 Sept 2025)'chopped down for the seventh time in less than a year'; installed 2021 after a speeding driver rear-ended a stopped vehicle, killing a 71-year-old man and his 69-year-old wife; since installation the device 'issued more than 66,000 tickets amounting to more than $8 million in fines'. A CBC report gives 2022 and 68,500 tickets / $7.3M for the same camera — the totals are not reconciled, so they are kept out of the entry text.
↗ Global News — 16 Toronto speed cameras damaged overnight (9 Sept 2025)'16 automated speed enforcement cameras were vandalized overnight', two days after the seventh Parkside cutting. Premier Doug Ford called the devices a 'tax grab' and said the province would remove them if municipalities did not.
↗ City of Toronto Council item 2024.GG18.5 — Redflex contract amendment'Amendment to Blanket Contract Number 47022502 with Redflex Traffic Systems (Canada) Limited for the Provision of Automated Speed Enforcement Cameras'; target value raised to '$36,198,530 net of all applicable taxes and charges'; original term 'from July 16, 2019 to July 15, 2024 with an option to extend the contract for one (1) additional five-year (5) term'. The item does not state whether the vendor is paid per camera, per ticket or by revenue share — no reached source establishes the payment basis.
↗ Global News — Toronto speed camera program revenue (2022)Published 2 December 2022'$34 million in fines was collected' from July 2020 to 31 October 2022. On where it goes: 'The revenue collected (set fines plus costs and fees) offsets the program cost while the victim surcharge is remitted to the province.' Each device costs 'around $50,000 to operate and maintain annually'. No ring-fenced road-safety fund is identified.

📅 How old is the evidence?

Two clocks, kept apart: when this entry’s sources were published, and what has happened to its record in the atlas. Documented span: 2020–2025. 8 of 9 sources carry a publication date, from 20 January 2020 to 24 June 2026.

When the sources were published

  1. City of Toronto · city governmentCity of Toronto — Automated Speed Enforcement
  2. Global News · pressGlobal News — Toronto speed camera program revenue (2022)
  3. City of Toronto · city governmentCity of Toronto — ASE data highlight significant speed reduction impact
  4. Legislative Assembly of Ontario · regional governmentLegislative Assembly of Ontario — Bill 56, Building a More Competitive Economy Act, 2025
  5. PubMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine) · researchInjury Prevention (2025) — Automated speed enforcement reduced vehicle speeds in school zones in Toronto
  6. CP24 · pressCP24 — Toronto's Parkside speed camera cut down for 7th time in less than a year (7 Sept 2025)
  7. Global News · pressGlobal News — 16 Toronto speed cameras damaged overnight (9 Sept 2025)
  8. Global News · pressGlobal News — Speeding increases in Toronto significantly after province turns off cameras (24 June 2026)

Every source, with links ↑

What happened to this record

  1. Sources last read
  2. Entered the record

Every revision, permanent →

Show your work What this page rests on and what it can’t tell you · all 1 claims with their sources · the forensic record

Evidence Passport · public beta 1 addressable claim, 9 source dossiers, one permanent baseline. The passport is unreviewed — an AI-assisted structural migration, not a human or expert endorsement. Every revision keeps a permanent copy under revision history.

Inspect the claims, one by one — verbatim text, sources and caveats for all 1

The text below is copied verbatim from the published record. Each claim names the source dossiers that carry it; caveats stay attached to the claim they qualify.

Claim 1 clm-760fb2fa5cd7ad6e quantitative
the proportion of vehicles speeding fell 45% (RR 0.55, 95% CI 0.49-0.61) and the 85th-percentile speed by 10.68 km/h
Published field
impact · verbatim
Mapping
mapped · no interpretation or interpolation added by this passport
What the mapping says
The SickKids and Toronto Metropolitan University study evaluated 204 camera locations from 2020 to 2022.
Caveat
After the province switched the cameras off in November 2025, a City of Toronto report (June 2026) found speeds up at 101 of 104 measured sites.

Sources carrying this claim

  1. Injury Prevention (2025) — Automated speed enforcement reduced vehicle speeds in school zones in Toronto
Forensic record — source dossiers, gaps, hashes and the exact revision this page renders

This layer records what is known about each source, what is still missing, and the exact snapshot this page is rendering. A missing date, archive or hash stays visible as missing.

unreviewed Revision 2026-08-20-source-dates effective 2026-07-26 · created 2026-08-20

Awaiting operator and domain-expert review; publication of this revision implies neither.

sha256:87ca94cafeb8cd20dd3b236008a1342d2b880567b20b373389267a478d165422
1
of 1 claims mapped
9
source dossiers
8
publication dates recorded
0
archives linked
0
exact locators
0
content captures hashed

Governance facts carried by the record

Operator
City of Toronto Transportation Services (Vision Zero); cameras supplied and operated under contract by Redflex Traffic Systems (Canada) Limited
Actor types
city-government, private
Funding model
public
Funding description
City of Toronto; fine revenue offset programme costs, victim surcharge remitted to the province
Cost
Camera vendor contract target value ≈C$36.2M (2019-2031, terminated early)
Ownership
Not recorded
Decision rights
Not recorded
Exit conditions
Not recorded

9 source dossiers

City of Toronto — Automated Speed Enforcement toronto.ca · background

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-c01497434481e1f0
Publisher
Name not classified · toronto.ca
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2020-01-20
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-20
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Operator page. 'July 6, 2020: The City began issuing ASE tickets.' 'There were 150 ASE systems installed on local, collector and arterial roads in Community Safety Zones across the city.' 'the registered owner of the vehicle received a violation notice regardless of who was driving'; 'No demerit points were issued by the Ministry of Transportation and driving records were not affected.' 'As of November 14, 2025, Automated Speed Enforcement (ASE) penalty orders are no longer issued in accordance with provincial legislation.' Also dates the enabling regulations to 2 December 2019.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Claims linked
Background source; no baseline claim points here
Legislative Assembly of Ontario — Bill 56, Building a More Competitive Economy Act, 2025 ola.org · background

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-e8e9ee2c7c2a5053
Publisher
Name not classified · ola.org
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2025-06-04
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-20
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Primary legislation, Royal Assent received, S.O. 2025 c. 11; sponsor Hon. Andrea Khanjin, Minister of Red Tape Reduction. Schedule 5 (Highway Traffic Act): 'Part XIV.1 of the Act is repealed'. Section 206.6: 'no cause of action arises against a municipality ... as a direct or indirect result of the breach, termination or frustration of a contract ... that occurs following the repeal of Part XIV.1.'

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Claims linked
Background source; no baseline claim points here
Injury Prevention (2025) — Automated speed enforcement reduced vehicle speeds in school zones in Toronto pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov · 1 linked claim

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-3f57cee56e55dd42
Publisher
Name not classified · pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2025-07-24
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-20
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Peer-reviewed, prospective quasi-experimental study by SickKids, University of Toronto, York University, Toronto Metropolitan University and INRS — independent of the city. 'Proportion of vehicles speeding dropped by 45% (RR: 0.55, 95% CI: 0.49, 0.61)' and '85th percentile speed dropped by 10.68 km/hour (95% CI: -11.48, -9.88)'.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
City of Toronto — ASE data highlight significant speed reduction impact toronto.ca · background

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-d838d60af6b2a8d4
Publisher
Name not classified · toronto.ca
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2023-07-11
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-20
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

City summary of the same SickKids/TMU study: data 'from January 2020 to December 2022 at 204 locations'; 'Excessive speeding ... was also reduced by 87 per cent'; 'the percentage of drivers exceeding the speed limit decreased at 80 per cent of locations'.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Claims linked
Background source; no baseline claim points here
Global News — Speeding increases in Toronto significantly after province turns off cameras (24 June 2026) globalnews.ca · background

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-ceafdbcccdd2d019
Publisher
Name not classified · globalnews.ca
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2026-06-24
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-20
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

Reports the city staff report: vehicle speeds increased at 101 of 104 locations measured; the proportion travelling 11 km/h or more over the posted limit rose from 2% to 8.1%. Mayor Olivia Chow: 'People are driving like it's a highway; it's a school zone for God's sake.' Province supplied $10 million through the Road Safety Initiative Fund for traffic calming instead.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Claims linked
Background source; no baseline claim points here
CP24 — Toronto's Parkside speed camera cut down for 7th time in less than a year (7 Sept 2025) cp24.com · background

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-34320003d3c7c297
Publisher
Name not classified · cp24.com
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2025-09-07
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-20
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

'chopped down for the seventh time in less than a year'; installed 2021 after a speeding driver rear-ended a stopped vehicle, killing a 71-year-old man and his 69-year-old wife; since installation the device 'issued more than 66,000 tickets amounting to more than $8 million in fines'. A CBC report gives 2022 and 68,500 tickets / $7.3M for the same camera — the totals are not reconciled, so they are kept out of the entry text.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Claims linked
Background source; no baseline claim points here
Global News — 16 Toronto speed cameras damaged overnight (9 Sept 2025) globalnews.ca · background

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-aa2860035ef442d3
Publisher
Name not classified · globalnews.ca
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2025-09-09
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-20
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

'16 automated speed enforcement cameras were vandalized overnight', two days after the seventh Parkside cutting. Premier Doug Ford called the devices a 'tax grab' and said the province would remove them if municipalities did not.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Claims linked
Background source; no baseline claim points here
City of Toronto Council item 2024.GG18.5 — Redflex contract amendment secure.toronto.ca · background

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-5b8881a90e182e60
Publisher
Name not classified · secure.toronto.ca
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
Not recorded
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-20
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

'Amendment to Blanket Contract Number 47022502 with Redflex Traffic Systems (Canada) Limited for the Provision of Automated Speed Enforcement Cameras'; target value raised to '$36,198,530 net of all applicable taxes and charges'; original term 'from July 16, 2019 to July 15, 2024 with an option to extend the contract for one (1) additional five-year (5) term'. The item does not state whether the vendor is paid per camera, per ticket or by revenue share — no reached source establishes the payment basis.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Claims linked
Background source; no baseline claim points here
Global News — Toronto speed camera program revenue (2022) globalnews.ca · background

Open original source ↗

Stable source ID
src-5254dbd64d81a572
Publisher
Name not classified · globalnews.ca
Type / language
web-page · language not classified
Published
2022-12-02
Updated
Not recorded
Source last checked
No source-level check date
Record last verified
2026-07-26
Dossier created
2026-08-20
Retrieved copy
No local capture recorded
Archive
No archived copy linked
Content hash
No captured content hash
Locator
Open the recorded source note

'$34 million in fines was collected' from July 2020 to 31 October 2022. On where it goes: 'The revenue collected (set fines plus costs and fees) offsets the program cost while the victim surcharge is remitted to the province.' Each device costs 'around $50,000 to operate and maintain annually'. No ring-fenced road-safety fund is identified.

Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Claims linked
Background source; no baseline claim points here
Known limits of this passport
  • Publisher names and source languages have not yet been classified; domains are recorded without guessing.
  • Existing source notes are descriptive locators, not page- or paragraph-exact citations.
  • A missing archive, publication date or content hash is shown as null rather than inferred.
  • The project-level evidence grade ranks the strongest source in the entry; it is not a truth score for every claim.
📎 Cite this project

1001 Smart Cities (2026). “Toronto Automated Speed Enforcement (abolished by the province)” — Toronto, Canada. The Smart City Atlas. https://1001smartcities.org/projects/toronto-automated-speed-enforcement/ (last verified 2026-07-26). Data: CC BY 4.0.

The underlying data is free to reuse with attribution — see the open data page.

✉️ Get the next source-checked smart-city project in your inbox

One short email a week: the Landmark, one Insight, the new cities. No spam, one-click unsubscribe. About the newsletter · RSS