1001 Evidence Brief

💰 Which smart-city projects publish what they cost?

Few of them, and not the ones you would expect. 260 of 1216 entries state a cost at all — 21.4%. A public-private partnership publishes a price 40% of the time, a publicly funded project 21%, and a privately funded one least of all at 9%. Disclosure follows the procurement announcement, not the public purse.

21.4% state a cost at all 260 of 1216 published entries. The other 956 name no figure in any currency.
40% vs 21% public-private against public budget 81 entries run as a partnership, 685 funded from a public budget. The partnership is roughly twice as likely to name a price.
134 cities where no entry names a price Of 265 documented cities, 131 have at least one entry that states what something cost.

✔ Every published entry is checked against the public sources it cites before publication.

Who publishes a price, by who is paying

States a costStates none

Funding model Entries Cost disclosed ShareEntries
All published entries 1216 260 states a cost, 956 states none 21%260
Public-private partnership 81 32 states a cost, 49 states none 40%32
Mixed / blended 109 33 states a cost, 76 states none 30%33
Grant-funded 79 19 states a cost, 60 states none 24%19
Public budget 685 142 states a cost, 543 states none 21%142
Utility-funded 78 16 states a cost, 62 states none 21%16
Not stated 141 14 states a cost, 127 states none 10%14
Private 43 4 states a cost, 39 states none 9%4

The ordering is the finding. A partnership or a mixed-funding project is announced through a procurement event — a contract award, a concession signing, a bond issue — and that event has a number in it. A line in a municipal budget has no press release, and a company spending its own money has no reason to publish one at all, which is why privately funded entries sit at the bottom at 9%.

Representative entries

Method

An entry counts as stating a cost when its record carries a cost figure at all — any currency, any precision, capital or programme. That is 260 of 1216 published entries.

The funding model is the atlas's own classification of who pays, from a fixed vocabulary: public budget, public-private partnership, grant, utility, private, mixed, or not stated. Entries whose funding this atlas could not establish sit in the last group and are shown rather than dropped.

The category breakdown is computed the same way; the domain that discloses most often is Energy at 33%. Every figure is regenerated at build time from the published data.

What this cannot tell you

The slice behind every number

Every figure above is computed at build time from the published data, and the rows it counts are downloadable as one file: which-smart-city-projects-publish-their-cost.json. Recomputing the numbers is a matter of counting that file. The full datasets are on the open data page, under CC BY 4.0.

Where to read next

The costs page lists the largest disclosed figures and what they bought. Who publishes the evidence asks the same kind of question about sources rather than money. And the brief on who evaluates smart-city projects finds that an audit office — the institution most likely to publish a cost — reaches almost none of them.

All briefs · Who publishes the evidence · How the record ages · The state of the evidence

✉️ One source-checked project a week. No pitches, no vendors.

Inside: the Landmark of the Week, one Insight, the newly documented cities. One-click unsubscribe. About the newsletter · RSS