{
 "schemaVersion": "1.0.0",
 "constitutionVersion": "1.0.0",
 "createdAt": "2026-08-12T00:00:00Z",
 "description": "Append-only Evidence Passport records. Old revisions are immutable; corrections create a new revision and preserve the previous permalink.",
 "entity": {
  "type": "project",
  "id": "montreal-water-meters",
  "title": "Montreal Non-Residential Water Metering, After the Cancelled Contract",
  "canonicalUrl": "https://1001smartcities.org/projects/montreal-water-meters/"
 },
 "currentRevisionId": "2026-08-21-source-dates",
 "revisions": [
  {
   "id": "2026-08-20-claim-baseline",
   "createdAt": "2026-08-21T11:00:00Z",
   "effectiveAt": "2026-07-26",
   "changeType": "baseline",
   "summary": "Created the first structured Evidence Passport with 9 claims and 8 source dossiers.",
   "preparedBy": {
    "type": "automation",
    "label": "AI-assisted evidence preparation",
    "humanApproved": false
   },
   "review": {
    "status": "unreviewed",
    "by": null,
    "date": null,
    "note": "Awaiting operator and domain-expert review; publication of this revision implies neither."
   },
   "changes": [
    {
     "operation": "add",
     "path": "/evidencePassport",
     "summary": "Added claim-level evidence mapping and source dossiers."
    },
    {
     "operation": "add",
     "path": "/revisionHistory",
     "summary": "Established a permanent, hash-addressed baseline revision."
    }
   ],
   "snapshotHash": "sha256:515c908a825aae51372861efbae3beaf096306b4bc680c3d2833ab0c4c4d23cb",
   "snapshot": {
    "asOf": "2026-07-26",
    "projectFingerprint": "sha256:a8ca1a16a816ebde08868db24aad72ced39c4932512873a129067156bd2e1523",
    "assurance": {
     "status": "unreviewed",
     "scope": "evidence-passport-revision",
     "statement": "AI-assisted structural preparation. This revision has not been reviewed by a human or subject-matter expert.",
     "machineChecks": [
      "schema",
      "publication-diff-contract",
      "material-project-fingerprint",
      "claim-text-drift",
      "source-reference-resolution",
      "complete-source-dossier",
      "snapshot-hash"
     ]
    },
    "projectState": {
     "status": "live",
     "outcome": "scaled-back",
     "evidenceGrade": "official",
     "timeline": {
      "started": 2007,
      "ended": null
     }
    },
    "governance": {
     "operator": "Ville de Montreal — Service de l'eau",
     "actorTypes": [
      "utility"
     ],
     "fundingModel": "public",
     "fundingDescription": "City of Montreal (Service de l'eau)",
     "cost": "≈CA$55M for the 2012 relaunch; the cancelled 2007 contract was ≈CA$356M over 25 years",
     "ownership": null,
     "decisionRights": null,
     "exitConditions": null
    },
    "claims": [
     {
      "id": "clm-00d87f3658f66f62",
      "field": "snippet",
      "text": "Montreal awarded a consortium of Dessau and Simard-Beaudry a roughly CA$356M, 25-year contract in late 2007 to meter non-residential buildings and optimise the water network",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-07ed4af423e9206b"
      ],
      "supportNote": "The account of the civil claim dates the award of the $356M contract to the GENIeau consortium to 2007 and its termination to 2009, naming Simard-Beaudry among the defendants.",
      "caveat": "The collusion the city describes in that claim is an allegation in its own pleading and is not stated as fact in the entry.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-7fc3ddda68f409ab",
      "field": "snippet",
      "text": "Auditor General Jacques Bergeron judged the tender 'trop vite, trop gros et trop cher' (too fast, too big, too expensive) and the city cancelled it in September 2009",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-110b0ff2cb7762b7",
       "src-ddb590c9952759b2"
      ],
      "supportNote": "The 2012 piece records the 2009 cancellation of the $356M contract, which the auditor general had judged 'trop vite, trop gros et trop cher'. The CBC report dates the cancellation to September 2009 by Mayor Gerald Tremblay following Bergeron's report, alongside the dismissal of the city manager and the corporate affairs director.",
      "caveat": "The CBC page returned an error to automated fetching; outlet, headline and content were confirmed through search, and the year and causal link are corroborated by two Journal Metro pieces.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-2875eaa5ddfd2911",
      "field": "snippet",
      "text": "arbitration then cost Montreal more than CA$13M, which it sued to recover in 2018",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-07ed4af423e9206b"
      ],
      "supportNote": "The 2012 arbitration ordered the city to pay, and the city's 2018 claim seeks '10,2 M$ en compensation et une penalite de 3,1 M$, plus les frais d'arbitrage et d'experts, pour un total d'un peu plus de 14 M$'.",
      "caveat": "The entry states 'more than CA$13M' — the sum of the compensation and penalty — rather than the article's slightly larger total, which includes arbitration and expert fees.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-dcce984a75103bb2",
      "field": "snippet",
      "text": "The city restarted in 2012 with three smaller contracts worth about CA$55M",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-110b0ff2cb7762b7"
      ],
      "supportNote": "The replacement programme was let as three separate contracts for '2900 compteurs d'eau pour les industries, commerces et institutions', with 16,200 meters planned by 2018: 'L'ensemble du projet s'eleve a 55 millions $, assume par les etablissements concernes'.",
      "caveat": null,
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-380dfbc16fd959b5",
      "field": "snippet",
      "text": "by 2023 had fitted roughly 19,500 industrial, commercial and institutional buildings with remote-read meters",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-a055090865455c52",
       "src-f1479707bacc5958"
      ],
      "supportNote": "Attributed to the city's own bilan de l'usage de l'eau potable: 'Il aura fallu une dizaine d'annees pour que la Ville de Montreal dote l'ensemble des ICI de compteurs d'eau, pour un total de 19 500 compteurs installes'. The operator page confirms the meters carry remote reading and meet the NSF61 standard.",
      "caveat": null,
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-f9fff3d0b528aba0",
      "field": "snippet",
      "text": "Volumetric billing for those buildings began on 1 January 2023",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-8fb1d58f080f2400"
      ],
      "supportNote": "The operator page dates the billing layer: 'Depuis le 1er janvier 2023, les immeubles qui sont en partie ou en totalite destines a un usage non residentiel paient une tarification selon le volume d'eau consomme.' The 2026 rates run from $0 per cubic metre below 1,000 m³ to $0.690 above 100,000 m³, and bills follow the year after the meters are read.",
      "caveat": null,
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-5fd5cade9f29d7e3",
      "field": "impact",
      "text": "the city's own data put overconsumption and losses at 30%, the same as in 2015, and its 2021 water-use report rated infrastructure leakage high for the Pierrefonds network and very high for Lachine and Atwater-Charles-J.-Des Baillets",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-a055090865455c52"
      ],
      "supportNote": "Both numbers are attributed to the City's bilan de l'usage de l'eau potable: 'Les donnees de la Ville de Montreal montrent que le taux de surconsommation et de pertes, qui s'eleve actuellement a 30%, est le meme qu'en 2015', and from the 2021 bilan 'un IFI eleve pour le reseau de Pierrefonds et tres eleve pour ceux de Lachine et Atwater-Charles-J.-Des Baillets'.",
      "caveat": "City figures relayed by the press; the underlying bilan was not directly reachable in this review.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-e2f848592299973a",
      "field": "lesson",
      "text": "Montreal cancelled a CA$356M, 25-year deal and then bought roughly the same meters for about CA$55M over the following decade — proof the original price was the scandal, not the meters",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-07ed4af423e9206b",
       "src-110b0ff2cb7762b7",
       "src-a752f1d56cd1fb7b"
      ],
      "supportNote": "The $356M contract was awarded in 2007 and terminated in 2009; the replacement was let in 2012 as three contracts totalling $55M borne by the establishments concerned. The metering by-law RCG 07-031 remains in force — the obligation outlived the contract meant to implement it.",
      "caveat": "'Roughly the same meters' is the entry's reading of two scopes described in different documents, not a statement either source makes.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-68e8ed1966c37528",
      "field": "lesson",
      "text": "the readings are withheld from the open data as commercially confidential",
      "statementKind": "descriptive",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-9d62083b565dc46e"
      ],
      "supportNote": "The open register is updated monthly and carries meter number, diameter, mechanical or electronic type, operating status, address, borough and obfuscated coordinates — and states its own limit on the same page: 'les consommations liees a ces compteurs ne seront pas publiees', for reasons of industrial confidentiality.",
      "caveat": null,
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     }
    ],
    "sources": [
     {
      "id": "src-f1479707bacc5958",
      "title": "Ville de Montreal — Compteurs d'eau",
      "url": "https://montreal.ca/sujets/compteurs-deau",
      "publisher": {
       "name": null,
       "domain": "montreal.ca",
       "classification": "not-classified"
      },
      "sourceType": "web-page",
      "language": "und",
      "role": "claim-evidence",
      "claimRefs": [
       "clm-380dfbc16fd959b5"
      ],
      "temporal": {
       "publishedAt": null,
       "updatedAt": null,
       "sourceCheckedAt": null,
       "recordLastVerifiedAt": "2026-07-26",
       "dossierCreatedAt": "2026-08-21",
       "retrievedAt": null,
       "status": "record-date-only"
      },
      "locator": {
       "type": "descriptive-source-note",
       "value": "Operator page, the obligation and the data layer: 'Tout batiment destine en partie ou en totalite a un usage non residentiel, qu'il soit existant ou a construire, doit etre muni d'un compteur d'eau.' and 'Ils sont munis d'un systeme de lecture a distance et sont conformes au standard NSF61.' (Every wholly or partly non-residential building, existing or to be built, must have a water meter; the meters have a remote-reading system and meet NSF61.) Also states the Quebec drinking-water strategy target of a 20% cut in production by 2025.",
       "exact": false
      },
      "preservation": {
       "archiveUrl": null,
       "archivedAt": null,
       "contentHash": null,
       "status": "not-captured"
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "src-8fb1d58f080f2400",
      "title": "Ville de Montreal — Immeubles non residentiels: tarification volumetrique de l'eau",
      "url": "https://montreal.ca/articles/immeubles-non-residentiels-tarification-volumetrique-de-leau-40288",
      "publisher": {
       "name": null,
       "domain": "montreal.ca",
       "classification": "not-classified"
      },
      "sourceType": "web-page",
      "language": "und",
      "role": "claim-evidence",
      "claimRefs": [
       "clm-f9fff3d0b528aba0"
      ],
      "temporal": {
       "publishedAt": null,
       "updatedAt": null,
       "sourceCheckedAt": null,
       "recordLastVerifiedAt": "2026-07-26",
       "dossierCreatedAt": "2026-08-21",
       "retrievedAt": null,
       "status": "record-date-only"
      },
      "locator": {
       "type": "descriptive-source-note",
       "value": "Operator page dating the billing layer: 'Depuis le 1er janvier 2023, les immeubles qui sont en partie ou en totalite destines a un usage non residentiel paient une tarification selon le volume d'eau consomme.' (Since 1 January 2023 non-residential buildings pay by volume consumed.) 2026 rates run from 0 $/m3 below 1,000 m3 to 0,690 $/m3 above 100,000 m3; bills follow the year after the meters are read.",
       "exact": false
      },
      "preservation": {
       "archiveUrl": null,
       "archivedAt": null,
       "contentHash": null,
       "status": "not-captured"
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "src-9d62083b565dc46e",
      "title": "Donnees Montreal — Compteurs d'eau exploites par la Ville de Montreal",
      "url": "https://donnees.montreal.ca/dataset/compteurs-eau",
      "publisher": {
       "name": null,
       "domain": "donnees.montreal.ca",
       "classification": "not-classified"
      },
      "sourceType": "web-page",
      "language": "und",
      "role": "claim-evidence",
      "claimRefs": [
       "clm-68e8ed1966c37528"
      ],
      "temporal": {
       "publishedAt": null,
       "updatedAt": null,
       "sourceCheckedAt": null,
       "recordLastVerifiedAt": "2026-07-26",
       "dossierCreatedAt": "2026-08-21",
       "retrievedAt": null,
       "status": "record-date-only"
      },
      "locator": {
       "type": "descriptive-source-note",
       "value": "The open register, updated monthly: 'Cette liste contient les compteurs d'eau exploites par le Service de l'eau de la Ville de Montreal.' Fields include meter number, diameter, mechanical or electronic type, operating status, address, borough and obfuscated coordinates. The limit is stated on the same page: 'les consommations liees a ces compteurs ne seront pas publiees' (consumption for these meters will not be published), for reasons of industrial confidentiality.",
       "exact": false
      },
      "preservation": {
       "archiveUrl": null,
       "archivedAt": null,
       "contentHash": null,
       "status": "not-captured"
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "src-a752f1d56cd1fb7b",
      "title": "Ville de Montreal — Installer un compteur d'eau dans un immeuble non residentiel",
      "url": "https://montreal.ca/installer-un-compteur-deau-dans-un-immeuble-non-residentiel",
      "publisher": {
       "name": null,
       "domain": "montreal.ca",
       "classification": "not-classified"
      },
      "sourceType": "web-page",
      "language": "und",
      "role": "claim-evidence",
      "claimRefs": [
       "clm-e2f848592299973a"
      ],
      "temporal": {
       "publishedAt": null,
       "updatedAt": null,
       "sourceCheckedAt": null,
       "recordLastVerifiedAt": "2026-07-26",
       "dossierCreatedAt": "2026-08-21",
       "retrievedAt": null,
       "status": "record-date-only"
      },
      "locator": {
       "type": "descriptive-source-note",
       "value": "Names the instrument still in force: 'Reglement sur la mesure de la consommation de l'eau dans les ICI — Codification administrative (RCG 07-031)'. The metering by-law outlived the contract meant to implement it.",
       "exact": false
      },
      "preservation": {
       "archiveUrl": null,
       "archivedAt": null,
       "contentHash": null,
       "status": "not-captured"
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "src-110b0ff2cb7762b7",
      "title": "Journal Metro — Compteurs d'eau: Montreal lance un appel d'offres (29 June 2012)",
      "url": "https://journalmetro.com/actualites/montreal/116229/compteurs-deau-montreal-lance-un-appel-doffres/amp/",
      "publisher": {
       "name": null,
       "domain": "journalmetro.com",
       "classification": "not-classified"
      },
      "sourceType": "web-page",
      "language": "und",
      "role": "claim-evidence",
      "claimRefs": [
       "clm-7fc3ddda68f409ab",
       "clm-dcce984a75103bb2",
       "clm-e2f848592299973a"
      ],
      "temporal": {
       "publishedAt": "2012-06-29",
       "updatedAt": null,
       "sourceCheckedAt": null,
       "recordLastVerifiedAt": "2026-07-26",
       "dossierCreatedAt": "2026-08-21",
       "retrievedAt": null,
       "status": "publication-and-record-dates-recorded"
      },
      "locator": {
       "type": "descriptive-source-note",
       "value": "The replacement programme and the auditor general's verdict in one piece: three separate contracts for '2900 compteurs d'eau pour les industries, commerces et institutions', 16,200 meters planned by 2018, and 'L'ensemble du projet s'eleve a 55 millions $, assume par les etablissements concernes' (the whole project comes to $55M, borne by the establishments concerned). Context given: the 2009 cancellation of the $356M GENIeau contract, which the auditor general had judged 'trop vite, trop gros et trop cher'.",
       "exact": false
      },
      "preservation": {
       "archiveUrl": null,
       "archivedAt": null,
       "contentHash": null,
       "status": "not-captured"
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "src-07ed4af423e9206b",
      "title": "Journal Metro — Montreal poursuit les acteurs presumes du scandale des compteurs d'eau (2018)",
      "url": "https://journalmetro.com/actualites/montreal/1820170/montreal-poursuit-les-acteurs-presumes-du-scandale-des-compteurs-deau/",
      "publisher": {
       "name": null,
       "domain": "journalmetro.com",
       "classification": "not-classified"
      },
      "sourceType": "web-page",
      "language": "und",
      "role": "claim-evidence",
      "claimRefs": [
       "clm-00d87f3658f66f62",
       "clm-2875eaa5ddfd2911",
       "clm-e2f848592299973a"
      ],
      "temporal": {
       "publishedAt": null,
       "updatedAt": null,
       "sourceCheckedAt": null,
       "recordLastVerifiedAt": "2026-07-26",
       "dossierCreatedAt": "2026-08-21",
       "retrievedAt": null,
       "status": "record-date-only"
      },
      "locator": {
       "type": "descriptive-source-note",
       "value": "The bill and the civil claim: the 2007 award of a $356M contract to the GENIeau consortium, its 2009 termination after the auditor general's report, the 2012 arbitration ordering the city to pay, and a claim of '10,2 M$ en compensation et une penalite de 3,1 M$, plus les frais d'arbitrage et d'experts, pour un total d'un peu plus de 14 M$'. Defendants named: Frank Zampino, Tony Accurso, Paolo Catania, Simard-Beaudry and Groupe SM. The collusion described is an allegation in the city's pleading.",
       "exact": false
      },
      "preservation": {
       "archiveUrl": null,
       "archivedAt": null,
       "contentHash": null,
       "status": "not-captured"
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "src-a055090865455c52",
      "title": "Journal Metro — Montreal, une ville ou coulent encore trop de dollars (22 April 2023)",
      "url": "https://journalmetro.com/actualites/montreal/3052825/montreal-une-ville-ou-coulent-encore-trop-de-dollars/",
      "publisher": {
       "name": null,
       "domain": "journalmetro.com",
       "classification": "not-classified"
      },
      "sourceType": "web-page",
      "language": "und",
      "role": "claim-evidence",
      "claimRefs": [
       "clm-380dfbc16fd959b5",
       "clm-5fd5cade9f29d7e3"
      ],
      "temporal": {
       "publishedAt": "2023-04-22",
       "updatedAt": null,
       "sourceCheckedAt": null,
       "recordLastVerifiedAt": "2026-07-26",
       "dossierCreatedAt": "2026-08-21",
       "retrievedAt": null,
       "status": "publication-and-record-dates-recorded"
      },
      "locator": {
       "type": "descriptive-source-note",
       "value": "Carries the two current numbers, both attributed to the City's bilan de l'usage de l'eau potable: 'Il aura fallu une dizaine d'annees pour que la Ville de Montreal dote l'ensemble des ICI de compteurs d'eau, pour un total de 19 500 compteurs installes' and 'Les donnees de la Ville de Montreal montrent que le taux de surconsommation et de pertes, qui s'eleve actuellement a 30%, est le meme qu'en 2015.' Also, from the 2021 bilan: 'un IFI eleve pour le reseau de Pierrefonds et tres eleve pour ceux de Lachine et Atwater-Charles-J.-Des Baillets.'",
       "exact": false
      },
      "preservation": {
       "archiveUrl": null,
       "archivedAt": null,
       "contentHash": null,
       "status": "not-captured"
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "src-ddb590c9952759b2",
      "title": "CBC News — Mayor cancels Montreal's $355M water meter contract (2009)",
      "url": "https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/montreal/mayor-cancels-montreal-s-355m-water-meter-contract-1.817695",
      "publisher": {
       "name": null,
       "domain": "cbc.ca",
       "classification": "not-classified"
      },
      "sourceType": "web-page",
      "language": "und",
      "role": "claim-evidence",
      "claimRefs": [
       "clm-7fc3ddda68f409ab"
      ],
      "temporal": {
       "publishedAt": null,
       "updatedAt": null,
       "sourceCheckedAt": null,
       "recordLastVerifiedAt": "2026-07-26",
       "dossierCreatedAt": "2026-08-21",
       "retrievedAt": null,
       "status": "record-date-only"
      },
      "locator": {
       "type": "descriptive-source-note",
       "value": "The cancellation itself, September 2009: Mayor Gerald Tremblay cancelled the contract after auditor general Jacques Bergeron's report, and dismissed city manager Claude Leger and corporate affairs director Robert Cassius de Linval. Fetch returned 403; outlet, headline and content confirmed through search results, and the year and the causal link are corroborated by the two Journal Metro articles above. La Presse ran the same story on 22 September 2009 ('Tremblay annule le contrat des compteurs d'eau', also 403).",
       "exact": false
      },
      "preservation": {
       "archiveUrl": null,
       "archivedAt": null,
       "contentHash": null,
       "status": "not-captured"
      }
     }
    ],
    "coverage": {
     "claimsTotal": 9,
     "claimsMapped": 9,
     "sourcesTotal": 8,
     "sourcesUsedByClaims": 8,
     "sourcesWithPublicationDate": 2,
     "sourcesWithArchive": 0,
     "sourcesWithExactLocator": 0,
     "sourcesWithContentHash": 0
    },
    "limits": [
     "Publisher names and source languages have not yet been classified; domains are recorded without guessing.",
     "Existing source notes are descriptive locators, not page- or paragraph-exact citations.",
     "A missing archive, publication date or content hash is shown as null rather than inferred.",
     "The project-level evidence grade ranks the strongest source in the entry; it is not a truth score for every claim."
    ]
   }
  },
  {
   "id": "2026-08-21-source-dates",
   "createdAt": "2026-08-22T02:28:00Z",
   "effectiveAt": "2026-07-26",
   "changeType": "update",
   "summary": "Record the publication date of each source that states one; a source that publishes no date is marked null, and one that shows only a revision carries `updated` instead.",
   "preparedBy": {
    "type": "automation",
    "label": "AI-assisted evidence preparation",
    "humanApproved": false
   },
   "review": {
    "status": "unreviewed",
    "by": null,
    "date": null,
    "note": "Awaiting operator and domain-expert review; publication of this revision implies neither."
   },
   "changes": [
    {
     "operation": "replace",
     "path": "/snapshot/projectFingerprint",
     "summary": "Updated projectFingerprint to the current sourced project record."
    },
    {
     "operation": "replace",
     "path": "/snapshot/sources",
     "summary": "Updated sources to the current sourced project record."
    }
   ],
   "snapshotHash": "sha256:3c5ec1bff8e6ede4b5d658400d3fda7972dae52fe05556b3bddfdf957d6141c2",
   "snapshot": {
    "asOf": "2026-07-26",
    "projectFingerprint": "sha256:1a4749cd6795585cfff0415092f498b672d70fedd554d140c10398392e865e3d",
    "assurance": {
     "status": "unreviewed",
     "scope": "evidence-passport-revision",
     "statement": "AI-assisted structural preparation. This revision has not been reviewed by a human or subject-matter expert.",
     "machineChecks": [
      "schema",
      "publication-diff-contract",
      "material-project-fingerprint",
      "claim-text-drift",
      "source-reference-resolution",
      "complete-source-dossier",
      "snapshot-hash"
     ]
    },
    "projectState": {
     "status": "live",
     "outcome": "scaled-back",
     "evidenceGrade": "official",
     "timeline": {
      "started": 2007,
      "ended": null
     }
    },
    "governance": {
     "operator": "Ville de Montreal — Service de l'eau",
     "actorTypes": [
      "utility"
     ],
     "fundingModel": "public",
     "fundingDescription": "City of Montreal (Service de l'eau)",
     "cost": "≈CA$55M for the 2012 relaunch; the cancelled 2007 contract was ≈CA$356M over 25 years",
     "ownership": null,
     "decisionRights": null,
     "exitConditions": null
    },
    "claims": [
     {
      "id": "clm-00d87f3658f66f62",
      "field": "snippet",
      "text": "Montreal awarded a consortium of Dessau and Simard-Beaudry a roughly CA$356M, 25-year contract in late 2007 to meter non-residential buildings and optimise the water network",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-07ed4af423e9206b"
      ],
      "supportNote": "The account of the civil claim dates the award of the $356M contract to the GENIeau consortium to 2007 and its termination to 2009, naming Simard-Beaudry among the defendants.",
      "caveat": "The collusion the city describes in that claim is an allegation in its own pleading and is not stated as fact in the entry.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-7fc3ddda68f409ab",
      "field": "snippet",
      "text": "Auditor General Jacques Bergeron judged the tender 'trop vite, trop gros et trop cher' (too fast, too big, too expensive) and the city cancelled it in September 2009",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-110b0ff2cb7762b7",
       "src-ddb590c9952759b2"
      ],
      "supportNote": "The 2012 piece records the 2009 cancellation of the $356M contract, which the auditor general had judged 'trop vite, trop gros et trop cher'. The CBC report dates the cancellation to September 2009 by Mayor Gerald Tremblay following Bergeron's report, alongside the dismissal of the city manager and the corporate affairs director.",
      "caveat": "The CBC page returned an error to automated fetching; outlet, headline and content were confirmed through search, and the year and causal link are corroborated by two Journal Metro pieces.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-2875eaa5ddfd2911",
      "field": "snippet",
      "text": "arbitration then cost Montreal more than CA$13M, which it sued to recover in 2018",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-07ed4af423e9206b"
      ],
      "supportNote": "The 2012 arbitration ordered the city to pay, and the city's 2018 claim seeks '10,2 M$ en compensation et une penalite de 3,1 M$, plus les frais d'arbitrage et d'experts, pour un total d'un peu plus de 14 M$'.",
      "caveat": "The entry states 'more than CA$13M' — the sum of the compensation and penalty — rather than the article's slightly larger total, which includes arbitration and expert fees.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-dcce984a75103bb2",
      "field": "snippet",
      "text": "The city restarted in 2012 with three smaller contracts worth about CA$55M",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-110b0ff2cb7762b7"
      ],
      "supportNote": "The replacement programme was let as three separate contracts for '2900 compteurs d'eau pour les industries, commerces et institutions', with 16,200 meters planned by 2018: 'L'ensemble du projet s'eleve a 55 millions $, assume par les etablissements concernes'.",
      "caveat": null,
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-380dfbc16fd959b5",
      "field": "snippet",
      "text": "by 2023 had fitted roughly 19,500 industrial, commercial and institutional buildings with remote-read meters",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-a055090865455c52",
       "src-f1479707bacc5958"
      ],
      "supportNote": "Attributed to the city's own bilan de l'usage de l'eau potable: 'Il aura fallu une dizaine d'annees pour que la Ville de Montreal dote l'ensemble des ICI de compteurs d'eau, pour un total de 19 500 compteurs installes'. The operator page confirms the meters carry remote reading and meet the NSF61 standard.",
      "caveat": null,
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-f9fff3d0b528aba0",
      "field": "snippet",
      "text": "Volumetric billing for those buildings began on 1 January 2023",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-8fb1d58f080f2400"
      ],
      "supportNote": "The operator page dates the billing layer: 'Depuis le 1er janvier 2023, les immeubles qui sont en partie ou en totalite destines a un usage non residentiel paient une tarification selon le volume d'eau consomme.' The 2026 rates run from $0 per cubic metre below 1,000 m³ to $0.690 above 100,000 m³, and bills follow the year after the meters are read.",
      "caveat": null,
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-5fd5cade9f29d7e3",
      "field": "impact",
      "text": "the city's own data put overconsumption and losses at 30%, the same as in 2015, and its 2021 water-use report rated infrastructure leakage high for the Pierrefonds network and very high for Lachine and Atwater-Charles-J.-Des Baillets",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-a055090865455c52"
      ],
      "supportNote": "Both numbers are attributed to the City's bilan de l'usage de l'eau potable: 'Les donnees de la Ville de Montreal montrent que le taux de surconsommation et de pertes, qui s'eleve actuellement a 30%, est le meme qu'en 2015', and from the 2021 bilan 'un IFI eleve pour le reseau de Pierrefonds et tres eleve pour ceux de Lachine et Atwater-Charles-J.-Des Baillets'.",
      "caveat": "City figures relayed by the press; the underlying bilan was not directly reachable in this review.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-e2f848592299973a",
      "field": "lesson",
      "text": "Montreal cancelled a CA$356M, 25-year deal and then bought roughly the same meters for about CA$55M over the following decade — proof the original price was the scandal, not the meters",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-07ed4af423e9206b",
       "src-110b0ff2cb7762b7",
       "src-a752f1d56cd1fb7b"
      ],
      "supportNote": "The $356M contract was awarded in 2007 and terminated in 2009; the replacement was let in 2012 as three contracts totalling $55M borne by the establishments concerned. The metering by-law RCG 07-031 remains in force — the obligation outlived the contract meant to implement it.",
      "caveat": "'Roughly the same meters' is the entry's reading of two scopes described in different documents, not a statement either source makes.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-68e8ed1966c37528",
      "field": "lesson",
      "text": "the readings are withheld from the open data as commercially confidential",
      "statementKind": "descriptive",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-9d62083b565dc46e"
      ],
      "supportNote": "The open register is updated monthly and carries meter number, diameter, mechanical or electronic type, operating status, address, borough and obfuscated coordinates — and states its own limit on the same page: 'les consommations liees a ces compteurs ne seront pas publiees', for reasons of industrial confidentiality.",
      "caveat": null,
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     }
    ],
    "sources": [
     {
      "id": "src-f1479707bacc5958",
      "title": "Ville de Montreal — Compteurs d'eau",
      "url": "https://montreal.ca/sujets/compteurs-deau",
      "publisher": {
       "name": null,
       "domain": "montreal.ca",
       "classification": "not-classified"
      },
      "sourceType": "web-page",
      "language": "und",
      "role": "claim-evidence",
      "claimRefs": [
       "clm-380dfbc16fd959b5"
      ],
      "temporal": {
       "publishedAt": null,
       "updatedAt": null,
       "sourceCheckedAt": null,
       "recordLastVerifiedAt": "2026-07-26",
       "dossierCreatedAt": "2026-08-22",
       "retrievedAt": null,
       "status": "record-date-only"
      },
      "locator": {
       "type": "descriptive-source-note",
       "value": "Operator page, the obligation and the data layer: 'Tout batiment destine en partie ou en totalite a un usage non residentiel, qu'il soit existant ou a construire, doit etre muni d'un compteur d'eau.' and 'Ils sont munis d'un systeme de lecture a distance et sont conformes au standard NSF61.' (Every wholly or partly non-residential building, existing or to be built, must have a water meter; the meters have a remote-reading system and meet NSF61.) Also states the Quebec drinking-water strategy target of a 20% cut in production by 2025.",
       "exact": false
      },
      "preservation": {
       "archiveUrl": null,
       "archivedAt": null,
       "contentHash": null,
       "status": "not-captured"
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "src-8fb1d58f080f2400",
      "title": "Ville de Montreal — Immeubles non residentiels: tarification volumetrique de l'eau",
      "url": "https://montreal.ca/articles/immeubles-non-residentiels-tarification-volumetrique-de-leau-40288",
      "publisher": {
       "name": null,
       "domain": "montreal.ca",
       "classification": "not-classified"
      },
      "sourceType": "web-page",
      "language": "und",
      "role": "claim-evidence",
      "claimRefs": [
       "clm-f9fff3d0b528aba0"
      ],
      "temporal": {
       "publishedAt": null,
       "updatedAt": null,
       "sourceCheckedAt": null,
       "recordLastVerifiedAt": "2026-07-26",
       "dossierCreatedAt": "2026-08-22",
       "retrievedAt": null,
       "status": "record-date-only"
      },
      "locator": {
       "type": "descriptive-source-note",
       "value": "Operator page dating the billing layer: 'Depuis le 1er janvier 2023, les immeubles qui sont en partie ou en totalite destines a un usage non residentiel paient une tarification selon le volume d'eau consomme.' (Since 1 January 2023 non-residential buildings pay by volume consumed.) 2026 rates run from 0 $/m3 below 1,000 m3 to 0,690 $/m3 above 100,000 m3; bills follow the year after the meters are read.",
       "exact": false
      },
      "preservation": {
       "archiveUrl": null,
       "archivedAt": null,
       "contentHash": null,
       "status": "not-captured"
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "src-9d62083b565dc46e",
      "title": "Donnees Montreal — Compteurs d'eau exploites par la Ville de Montreal",
      "url": "https://donnees.montreal.ca/dataset/compteurs-eau",
      "publisher": {
       "name": null,
       "domain": "donnees.montreal.ca",
       "classification": "not-classified"
      },
      "sourceType": "web-page",
      "language": "und",
      "role": "claim-evidence",
      "claimRefs": [
       "clm-68e8ed1966c37528"
      ],
      "temporal": {
       "publishedAt": null,
       "updatedAt": null,
       "sourceCheckedAt": null,
       "recordLastVerifiedAt": "2026-07-26",
       "dossierCreatedAt": "2026-08-22",
       "retrievedAt": null,
       "status": "record-date-only"
      },
      "locator": {
       "type": "descriptive-source-note",
       "value": "The open register, updated monthly: 'Cette liste contient les compteurs d'eau exploites par le Service de l'eau de la Ville de Montreal.' Fields include meter number, diameter, mechanical or electronic type, operating status, address, borough and obfuscated coordinates. The limit is stated on the same page: 'les consommations liees a ces compteurs ne seront pas publiees' (consumption for these meters will not be published), for reasons of industrial confidentiality.",
       "exact": false
      },
      "preservation": {
       "archiveUrl": null,
       "archivedAt": null,
       "contentHash": null,
       "status": "not-captured"
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "src-a752f1d56cd1fb7b",
      "title": "Ville de Montreal — Installer un compteur d'eau dans un immeuble non residentiel",
      "url": "https://montreal.ca/installer-un-compteur-deau-dans-un-immeuble-non-residentiel",
      "publisher": {
       "name": null,
       "domain": "montreal.ca",
       "classification": "not-classified"
      },
      "sourceType": "web-page",
      "language": "und",
      "role": "claim-evidence",
      "claimRefs": [
       "clm-e2f848592299973a"
      ],
      "temporal": {
       "publishedAt": null,
       "updatedAt": null,
       "sourceCheckedAt": null,
       "recordLastVerifiedAt": "2026-07-26",
       "dossierCreatedAt": "2026-08-22",
       "retrievedAt": null,
       "status": "record-date-only"
      },
      "locator": {
       "type": "descriptive-source-note",
       "value": "Names the instrument still in force: 'Reglement sur la mesure de la consommation de l'eau dans les ICI — Codification administrative (RCG 07-031)'. The metering by-law outlived the contract meant to implement it.",
       "exact": false
      },
      "preservation": {
       "archiveUrl": null,
       "archivedAt": null,
       "contentHash": null,
       "status": "not-captured"
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "src-110b0ff2cb7762b7",
      "title": "Journal Metro — Compteurs d'eau: Montreal lance un appel d'offres (29 June 2012)",
      "url": "https://journalmetro.com/actualites/montreal/116229/compteurs-deau-montreal-lance-un-appel-doffres/amp/",
      "publisher": {
       "name": null,
       "domain": "journalmetro.com",
       "classification": "not-classified"
      },
      "sourceType": "web-page",
      "language": "und",
      "role": "claim-evidence",
      "claimRefs": [
       "clm-7fc3ddda68f409ab",
       "clm-dcce984a75103bb2",
       "clm-e2f848592299973a"
      ],
      "temporal": {
       "publishedAt": "2012-06-29",
       "updatedAt": null,
       "sourceCheckedAt": null,
       "recordLastVerifiedAt": "2026-07-26",
       "dossierCreatedAt": "2026-08-22",
       "retrievedAt": null,
       "status": "publication-and-record-dates-recorded"
      },
      "locator": {
       "type": "descriptive-source-note",
       "value": "The replacement programme and the auditor general's verdict in one piece: three separate contracts for '2900 compteurs d'eau pour les industries, commerces et institutions', 16,200 meters planned by 2018, and 'L'ensemble du projet s'eleve a 55 millions $, assume par les etablissements concernes' (the whole project comes to $55M, borne by the establishments concerned). Context given: the 2009 cancellation of the $356M GENIeau contract, which the auditor general had judged 'trop vite, trop gros et trop cher'.",
       "exact": false
      },
      "preservation": {
       "archiveUrl": null,
       "archivedAt": null,
       "contentHash": null,
       "status": "not-captured"
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "src-07ed4af423e9206b",
      "title": "Journal Metro — Montreal poursuit les acteurs presumes du scandale des compteurs d'eau (2018)",
      "url": "https://journalmetro.com/actualites/montreal/1820170/montreal-poursuit-les-acteurs-presumes-du-scandale-des-compteurs-deau/",
      "publisher": {
       "name": null,
       "domain": "journalmetro.com",
       "classification": "not-classified"
      },
      "sourceType": "web-page",
      "language": "und",
      "role": "claim-evidence",
      "claimRefs": [
       "clm-00d87f3658f66f62",
       "clm-2875eaa5ddfd2911",
       "clm-e2f848592299973a"
      ],
      "temporal": {
       "publishedAt": "2018-09-26",
       "updatedAt": null,
       "sourceCheckedAt": null,
       "recordLastVerifiedAt": "2026-07-26",
       "dossierCreatedAt": "2026-08-22",
       "retrievedAt": null,
       "status": "publication-and-record-dates-recorded"
      },
      "locator": {
       "type": "descriptive-source-note",
       "value": "The bill and the civil claim: the 2007 award of a $356M contract to the GENIeau consortium, its 2009 termination after the auditor general's report, the 2012 arbitration ordering the city to pay, and a claim of '10,2 M$ en compensation et une penalite de 3,1 M$, plus les frais d'arbitrage et d'experts, pour un total d'un peu plus de 14 M$'. Defendants named: Frank Zampino, Tony Accurso, Paolo Catania, Simard-Beaudry and Groupe SM. The collusion described is an allegation in the city's pleading.",
       "exact": false
      },
      "preservation": {
       "archiveUrl": null,
       "archivedAt": null,
       "contentHash": null,
       "status": "not-captured"
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "src-a055090865455c52",
      "title": "Journal Metro — Montreal, une ville ou coulent encore trop de dollars (22 April 2023)",
      "url": "https://journalmetro.com/actualites/montreal/3052825/montreal-une-ville-ou-coulent-encore-trop-de-dollars/",
      "publisher": {
       "name": null,
       "domain": "journalmetro.com",
       "classification": "not-classified"
      },
      "sourceType": "web-page",
      "language": "und",
      "role": "claim-evidence",
      "claimRefs": [
       "clm-380dfbc16fd959b5",
       "clm-5fd5cade9f29d7e3"
      ],
      "temporal": {
       "publishedAt": "2023-04-22",
       "updatedAt": "2023-05-04",
       "sourceCheckedAt": null,
       "recordLastVerifiedAt": "2026-07-26",
       "dossierCreatedAt": "2026-08-22",
       "retrievedAt": null,
       "status": "publication-and-record-dates-recorded"
      },
      "locator": {
       "type": "descriptive-source-note",
       "value": "Carries the two current numbers, both attributed to the City's bilan de l'usage de l'eau potable: 'Il aura fallu une dizaine d'annees pour que la Ville de Montreal dote l'ensemble des ICI de compteurs d'eau, pour un total de 19 500 compteurs installes' and 'Les donnees de la Ville de Montreal montrent que le taux de surconsommation et de pertes, qui s'eleve actuellement a 30%, est le meme qu'en 2015.' Also, from the 2021 bilan: 'un IFI eleve pour le reseau de Pierrefonds et tres eleve pour ceux de Lachine et Atwater-Charles-J.-Des Baillets.'",
       "exact": false
      },
      "preservation": {
       "archiveUrl": null,
       "archivedAt": null,
       "contentHash": null,
       "status": "not-captured"
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "src-ddb590c9952759b2",
      "title": "CBC News — Mayor cancels Montreal's $355M water meter contract (2009)",
      "url": "https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/montreal/mayor-cancels-montreal-s-355m-water-meter-contract-1.817695",
      "publisher": {
       "name": null,
       "domain": "cbc.ca",
       "classification": "not-classified"
      },
      "sourceType": "web-page",
      "language": "und",
      "role": "claim-evidence",
      "claimRefs": [
       "clm-7fc3ddda68f409ab"
      ],
      "temporal": {
       "publishedAt": "2009-09-22",
       "updatedAt": null,
       "sourceCheckedAt": null,
       "recordLastVerifiedAt": "2026-07-26",
       "dossierCreatedAt": "2026-08-22",
       "retrievedAt": null,
       "status": "publication-and-record-dates-recorded"
      },
      "locator": {
       "type": "descriptive-source-note",
       "value": "The cancellation itself, September 2009: Mayor Gerald Tremblay cancelled the contract after auditor general Jacques Bergeron's report, and dismissed city manager Claude Leger and corporate affairs director Robert Cassius de Linval. Fetch returned 403; outlet, headline and content confirmed through search results, and the year and the causal link are corroborated by the two Journal Metro articles above. La Presse ran the same story on 22 September 2009 ('Tremblay annule le contrat des compteurs d'eau', also 403).",
       "exact": false
      },
      "preservation": {
       "archiveUrl": null,
       "archivedAt": null,
       "contentHash": null,
       "status": "not-captured"
      }
     }
    ],
    "coverage": {
     "claimsTotal": 9,
     "claimsMapped": 9,
     "sourcesTotal": 8,
     "sourcesUsedByClaims": 8,
     "sourcesWithPublicationDate": 4,
     "sourcesWithArchive": 0,
     "sourcesWithExactLocator": 0,
     "sourcesWithContentHash": 0
    },
    "limits": [
     "Publisher names and source languages have not yet been classified; domains are recorded without guessing.",
     "Existing source notes are descriptive locators, not page- or paragraph-exact citations.",
     "A missing archive, publication date or content hash is shown as null rather than inferred.",
     "The project-level evidence grade ranks the strongest source in the entry; it is not a truth score for every claim."
    ]
   }
  }
 ]
}
