{
 "schemaVersion": "1.0.0",
 "constitutionVersion": "1.0.0",
 "createdAt": "2026-08-12T00:00:00Z",
 "description": "Append-only Evidence Passport records. Old revisions are immutable; corrections create a new revision and preserve the previous permalink.",
 "entity": {
  "type": "project",
  "id": "london-vivacity-ai-sensors",
  "title": "Vivacity AI Traffic-Sensor Network",
  "canonicalUrl": "https://1001smartcities.org/projects/london-vivacity-ai-sensors/"
 },
 "currentRevisionId": "2026-08-21-evidence-baseline",
 "revisions": [
  {
   "id": "2026-08-21-evidence-baseline",
   "createdAt": "2026-08-22T09:10:00Z",
   "effectiveAt": "2026-08-06",
   "changeType": "baseline",
   "summary": "Created the first structured Evidence Passport with 13 claims and 5 source dossiers.",
   "preparedBy": {
    "type": "automation",
    "label": "AI-assisted evidence preparation",
    "humanApproved": false
   },
   "review": {
    "status": "unreviewed",
    "by": null,
    "date": null,
    "note": "Awaiting operator and domain-expert review; publication of this revision implies neither."
   },
   "changes": [
    {
     "operation": "add",
     "path": "/evidencePassport",
     "summary": "Added claim-level evidence mapping and source dossiers."
    },
    {
     "operation": "add",
     "path": "/revisionHistory",
     "summary": "Established a permanent, hash-addressed baseline revision."
    }
   ],
   "snapshotHash": "sha256:728d2ecbe922c02802f30beba1af9841e794ab1f0ebad252914a45602b9d57e1",
   "snapshot": {
    "asOf": "2026-08-06",
    "projectFingerprint": "sha256:366b1f636a3499b34fc935d326148be1be8c399ff87a9caf532abebfb0b169dd",
    "assurance": {
     "status": "unreviewed",
     "scope": "evidence-passport-revision",
     "statement": "AI-assisted structural preparation. This revision has not been reviewed by a human or subject-matter expert.",
     "machineChecks": [
      "schema",
      "publication-diff-contract",
      "material-project-fingerprint",
      "claim-text-drift",
      "source-reference-resolution",
      "complete-source-dossier",
      "snapshot-hash"
     ]
    },
    "projectState": {
     "status": "live",
     "outcome": "ongoing",
     "evidenceGrade": "official",
     "timeline": {
      "started": 2018,
      "ended": null
     }
    },
    "governance": {
     "operator": "Transport for London (sensors supplied by Vivacity Labs)",
     "actorTypes": [
      "city-government",
      "private"
     ],
     "fundingModel": "public",
     "fundingDescription": null,
     "cost": null,
     "ownership": null,
     "decisionRights": null,
     "exitConditions": null
    },
    "claims": [
     {
      "id": "clm-306337ffdc95917d",
      "field": "snippet",
      "text": "Transport for London has used Vivacity Labs' edge-AI cameras since 2018, first at two Millbank sites",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-0a5c39329dc7647e",
       "src-1cc378979008e482"
      ],
      "supportNote": "TfL's own release states: 'Since 2018, TfL has trialled using Vivacity Labs sensors at two busy locations along Millbank.' The 'edge' description comes from the supplier's privacy page, which says the system 'processes all video locally, produces anonymous data feeds and discards the video within milliseconds'.",
      "caveat": "TfL describes the two Millbank installations as a trial rather than settled operational use, and neither source confirms that those two sites are still running today.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-85e80fb7df86344b",
      "field": "snippet",
      "text": "later at 43 sensors across 20 central London locations",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-0a5c39329dc7647e"
      ],
      "supportNote": "The January 2020 release says TfL 'is in the process of introducing 43 more Vivacity sensors at 20 central London locations to gather data and further test', and lists all twenty sites in its notes to editors under the heading 'The proposed 20 central London locations for the 43 Vivacity sensors are:'.",
      "caveat": "At the time of writing TfL called the rollout a work in progress and the twenty sites 'proposed'. No listed source confirms that all 43 sensors were installed, and the release counts them as 43 sensors in addition to the two at Millbank, not as the whole estate.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-99f84ae395caeb9c",
      "field": "snippet",
      "text": "They classify pedestrians, cyclists, wheelchair users and vehicles on-device",
      "statementKind": "descriptive",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-620ccd907f4f74aa",
       "src-0a5c39329dc7647e",
       "src-1cc378979008e482"
      ],
      "supportNote": "TfL's 2026 strategy release lists the classes: 'Vivacity technology uses AI to distinguish between different modes of travel including walking, cycling, wheelchair use, taxis, and heavy goods vehicles.' The 2020 release names the vehicle classes as 'cars, HGVs, vans, motorcyclists and buses' alongside people cycling and walking. The supplier's privacy page describes where the work happens: the system 'processes all video locally'.",
      "caveat": "Wheelchair users appear only in the 2026 release; the 2020 trial release does not list them. That the classification runs on the device rather than in the cloud is stated by the supplier, not by TfL.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-15252b96ec19eede",
      "field": "snippet",
      "text": "discard the video",
      "statementKind": "descriptive",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-0a5c39329dc7647e",
       "src-1cc378979008e482"
      ],
      "supportNote": "TfL states: 'All video captured by the sensors is processed and discarded within seconds, meaning that no personal data is ever stored.' The supplier's privacy page says the system 'processes all video locally, produces anonymous data feeds and discards the video within milliseconds'.",
      "caveat": "The supplier's own page names two exceptions to this: during installation it may store up to an hour of video to calibrate the sensor, and a ten-minute clip from each sensor is kept for the lifetime of the deployment so that software updates can be tested.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-237012618dd49981",
      "field": "snippet",
      "text": "TfL's competitive trial found them up to 98% accurate",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-0a5c39329dc7647e"
      ],
      "supportNote": "TfL reports the result of its own procurement trial: 'The competitive trial, which is the first time the technology has been used within London, showed that the Vivacity sensors are up to 98 per cent accurate.' The supplier's marketing page gives a different number for what it presents as the same TfL assessment: 'Independently verified by Transport for London, VivaCity sensors achieve a market-leading 97% accuracy rate.'",
      "caveat": "This is TfL reporting on a trial it ran itself; no independent body has published an accuracy assessment. TfL does not say what was measured, over how long, or against which reference count, and 'up to' names a best case rather than a typical one.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-2bac69c396df60dc",
      "field": "snippet",
      "text": "TfL's January 2026 strategy expands the estate",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-620ccd907f4f74aa"
      ],
      "supportNote": "The 'London on the move' release, dated 26 January 2026, lists among the measures TfL has committed to: 'TfL is expanding the use of Vivacity cameras across London to better understand how people and vehicles move through the city.'",
      "caveat": "The strategy states the intention to expand but names no target number of sensors, no locations and no date by which the expansion is to be complete.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-81dc04f6178246e0",
      "field": "snippet",
      "text": "seeks a borough data-sharing agreement covering over 1,000 cameras",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-620ccd907f4f74aa"
      ],
      "supportNote": "The same release says: 'TfL is working closely with boroughs on a data-sharing agreement, which will give access to insights from over 1,000 cameras, highlighting the importance of collaboration in shaping London's future mobility.'",
      "caveat": "TfL writes in the future tense: the agreement is being worked on and would give access to those insights. No listed source says it has been concluded, and the release does not state that all of those cameras are Vivacity sensors.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-ace924ce2a6da957",
      "field": "snippet",
      "text": "The firm states it has never used facial recognition.",
      "statementKind": "descriptive",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-1cc378979008e482"
      ],
      "supportNote": "The supplier's privacy page says: 'We have also never done any work involving facial recognition and we will never do so as it violates our commitment to privacy.'",
      "caveat": "This is the supplier's own statement about its own product. No listed source records an external audit or a regulator's finding that tested it.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-2c2a897e873c7b54",
      "field": "impact",
      "text": "TfL's competitive trial at two Millbank locations found the sensors up to 98% accurate at classifying road users",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-0a5c39329dc7647e"
      ],
      "supportNote": "TfL's January 2020 release ties the trial to the two Millbank sites and reports the figure: 'Since 2018, TfL has trialled using Vivacity Labs sensors at two busy locations along Millbank' and 'The competitive trial ... showed that the Vivacity sensors are up to 98 per cent accurate.' The supplier's own page attributes a 97 per cent figure to Transport for London instead.",
      "caveat": "The figure is TfL's account of a trial it commissioned and ran; it has not been audited or published in full. TfL gives no measurement period, sample size or reference count, and 'up to' describes the best result rather than an average.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-7a7d0cb5a71ab272",
      "field": "impact",
      "text": "TfL then introduced 43 more sensors at 20 central London locations (TfL, January 2020)",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-0a5c39329dc7647e"
      ],
      "supportNote": "The release, dated Thursday 16 January 2020, says TfL 'is in the process of introducing 43 more Vivacity sensors at 20 central London locations to gather data and further test to understand the full range of capabilities the technology has to offer', and names all twenty proposed sites.",
      "caveat": "The wording is 'in the process of introducing', and the notes to editors call the twenty sites 'proposed'. The entry reads this as completed; no listed source reports the finished installation.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-5134dbf45fa97ac3",
      "field": "lesson",
      "text": "The 1,000-odd Vivacity sensors in London",
      "statementKind": "quantitative",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-fa6fbeb1524c9c52",
       "src-620ccd907f4f74aa"
      ],
      "supportNote": "The figure originates with the supplier, whose page states: 'Currently, there are approximately 1,000 live VivaCity sensors across London supporting TfL and London boroughs with high quality transport data.' TfL's 2026 strategy separately refers to 'insights from over 1,000 cameras' covered by the planned borough data-sharing agreement.",
      "caveat": "The count is the supplier's own, published in July 2024, and no independent tally exists. TfL's figure is a count of cameras reachable through a planned agreement, not a statement about how many Vivacity sensors are installed.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-83aec6076f33ffca",
      "field": "lesson",
      "text": "are split between TfL and twenty-five London councils, each procuring its own",
      "statementKind": "descriptive",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-502da598fb72dd56",
       "src-fa6fbeb1524c9c52"
      ],
      "supportNote": "The trade report is headlined 'VivaCity partners with 25th London council to tackle congestion' and its opening summary says: 'The company will deploy 42 AI sensors in the Bexley area that can differentiate between different modes of transport and report on the make-up of traffic.' Each council contracts the supplier separately. The supplier describes the London estate as 'supporting TfL and London boroughs'.",
      "caveat": "The trade report establishes twenty-five London councils as of November 2022, not more than twenty-five, and the rest of that article sits behind a registration wall. No listed source breaks the London estate down by owner, so the share held by TfL rather than the boroughs is not documented.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "clm-de18ede002d90f76",
      "field": "lesson",
      "text": "which is why TfL had to negotiate a data-sharing agreement to see them at all",
      "statementKind": "descriptive",
      "textMode": "verbatim-from-project-record",
      "mappingStatus": "mapped",
      "sourceRefs": [
       "src-620ccd907f4f74aa"
      ],
      "supportNote": "TfL's 2026 strategy confirms the negotiation: 'TfL is working closely with boroughs on a data-sharing agreement, which will give access to insights from over 1,000 cameras, highlighting the importance of collaboration in shaping London's future mobility.'",
      "caveat": "TfL presents the agreement as collaboration rather than as a consequence of fragmented ownership, and does not say that it is currently unable to see borough data. The causal reading is the atlas entry's, not TfL's.",
      "interpretation": {
       "added": false,
       "interpolation": false,
       "note": "The passport copies the published claim and its recorded source mapping without adding a conclusion."
      }
     }
    ],
    "sources": [
     {
      "id": "src-0a5c39329dc7647e",
      "title": "TfL newsroom — Artificial intelligence to help fuel London's cycling boom (16 Jan 2020)",
      "url": "https://tfl-newsroom.prgloo.com/news/tfl-press-release-tfl-using-artificial-intelligence-to-help-fuel-londons-cycling-boom",
      "publisher": {
       "name": null,
       "domain": "tfl-newsroom.prgloo.com",
       "classification": "not-classified"
      },
      "sourceType": "web-page",
      "language": "und",
      "role": "claim-evidence",
      "claimRefs": [
       "clm-306337ffdc95917d",
       "clm-85e80fb7df86344b",
       "clm-99f84ae395caeb9c",
       "clm-15252b96ec19eede",
       "clm-237012618dd49981",
       "clm-2c2a897e873c7b54",
       "clm-7a7d0cb5a71ab272"
      ],
      "temporal": {
       "publishedAt": "2020-01-16",
       "updatedAt": null,
       "sourceCheckedAt": null,
       "recordLastVerifiedAt": "2026-08-06",
       "dossierCreatedAt": "2026-08-22",
       "retrievedAt": null,
       "status": "publication-and-record-dates-recorded"
      },
      "locator": {
       "type": "descriptive-source-note",
       "value": "Official primary. Carries every load-bearing fact: 'Since 2018, TfL has trialled using Vivacity Labs sensors at two busy locations along Millbank'; 'up to 98 per cent accurate'; 43 more sensors at 20 central London locations; 'All video captured by the sensors is processed and discarded within seconds'; AI mode classification.",
       "exact": false
      },
      "preservation": {
       "archiveUrl": null,
       "archivedAt": null,
       "contentHash": null,
       "status": "not-captured"
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "src-620ccd907f4f74aa",
      "title": "TfL newsroom — 'London on the move' five-year strategy (26 Jan 2026)",
      "url": "https://tfl-newsroom.prgloo.com/news/tfl-unveils-ambitious-five-year-plan-to-cut-congestion-and-transform-londons-road-network-for-the-future",
      "publisher": {
       "name": null,
       "domain": "tfl-newsroom.prgloo.com",
       "classification": "not-classified"
      },
      "sourceType": "web-page",
      "language": "und",
      "role": "claim-evidence",
      "claimRefs": [
       "clm-99f84ae395caeb9c",
       "clm-2bac69c396df60dc",
       "clm-81dc04f6178246e0",
       "clm-5134dbf45fa97ac3",
       "clm-de18ede002d90f76"
      ],
      "temporal": {
       "publishedAt": "2026-01-26",
       "updatedAt": null,
       "sourceCheckedAt": null,
       "recordLastVerifiedAt": "2026-08-06",
       "dossierCreatedAt": "2026-08-22",
       "retrievedAt": null,
       "status": "publication-and-record-dates-recorded"
      },
      "locator": {
       "type": "descriptive-source-note",
       "value": "Official primary for the expansion. Exact wording: 'TfL is working closely with boroughs on a data-sharing agreement, which will give access to insights from over 1,000 cameras.' Future tense, borough-owned pool. FUSION is a separate item in the same release and is NOT stated to take Vivacity data.",
       "exact": false
      },
      "preservation": {
       "archiveUrl": null,
       "archivedAt": null,
       "contentHash": null,
       "status": "not-captured"
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "src-1cc378979008e482",
      "title": "Vivacity Labs — Data Privacy & Security",
      "url": "https://vivacitylabs.com/resources/privacy-security/",
      "publisher": {
       "name": null,
       "domain": "vivacitylabs.com",
       "classification": "not-classified"
      },
      "sourceType": "web-page",
      "language": "und",
      "role": "claim-evidence",
      "claimRefs": [
       "clm-306337ffdc95917d",
       "clm-99f84ae395caeb9c",
       "clm-15252b96ec19eede",
       "clm-ace924ce2a6da957"
      ],
      "temporal": {
       "publishedAt": null,
       "updatedAt": null,
       "sourceCheckedAt": null,
       "recordLastVerifiedAt": "2026-08-06",
       "dossierCreatedAt": "2026-08-22",
       "retrievedAt": null,
       "status": "record-date-only"
      },
      "locator": {
       "type": "descriptive-source-note",
       "value": "Vendor statement on the privacy design: video processed locally and discarded, no personal data, 'never done any work involving facial recognition'. Also discloses the exceptions: up to an hour of video stored during setup, and a 10-minute clip per sensor retained for the deployment's lifetime to test software updates.",
       "exact": false
      },
      "preservation": {
       "archiveUrl": null,
       "archivedAt": null,
       "contentHash": null,
       "status": "not-captured"
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "src-502da598fb72dd56",
      "title": "Smart Cities World — VivaCity partners with 25th London council",
      "url": "https://www.smartcitiesworld.net/ai-and-machine-learning/ai-and-machine-learning/vivacity-partners-with-25th-london-council-to-tackle-congestion",
      "publisher": {
       "name": null,
       "domain": "smartcitiesworld.net",
       "classification": "not-classified"
      },
      "sourceType": "web-page",
      "language": "und",
      "role": "claim-evidence",
      "claimRefs": [
       "clm-83aec6076f33ffca"
      ],
      "temporal": {
       "publishedAt": "2022-11-21",
       "updatedAt": null,
       "sourceCheckedAt": null,
       "recordLastVerifiedAt": "2026-08-06",
       "dossierCreatedAt": "2026-08-22",
       "retrievedAt": null,
       "status": "publication-and-record-dates-recorded"
      },
      "locator": {
       "type": "descriptive-source-note",
       "value": "Trade press evidencing the borough-by-borough footprint: Bexley is the 25th London council to contract Vivacity, installing 42 sensors in place of induction loops.",
       "exact": false
      },
      "preservation": {
       "archiveUrl": null,
       "archivedAt": null,
       "contentHash": null,
       "status": "not-captured"
      }
     },
     {
      "id": "src-fa6fbeb1524c9c52",
      "title": "Vivacity Labs — Borough Safer Streets & Better Bus Partnerships (vendor page)",
      "url": "https://vivacitylabs.com/borough-safer-streets-and-better-bus-partnerships/",
      "publisher": {
       "name": null,
       "domain": "vivacitylabs.com",
       "classification": "not-classified"
      },
      "sourceType": "web-page",
      "language": "und",
      "role": "claim-evidence",
      "claimRefs": [
       "clm-5134dbf45fa97ac3",
       "clm-83aec6076f33ffca"
      ],
      "temporal": {
       "publishedAt": "2024-07-23",
       "updatedAt": null,
       "sourceCheckedAt": null,
       "recordLastVerifiedAt": "2026-08-06",
       "dossierCreatedAt": "2026-08-22",
       "retrievedAt": null,
       "status": "publication-and-record-dates-recorded"
      },
      "locator": {
       "type": "descriptive-source-note",
       "value": "Cited as the ORIGIN of two figures that must not be read as independent: 'approximately 1,000 live VivaCity sensors across London supporting TfL and London boroughs' and 'Independently verified by Transport for London, VivaCity sensors achieve a market-leading 97% accuracy rate.' TfL's own release says 'up to 98 per cent' — the 97% is vendor copy.",
       "exact": false
      },
      "preservation": {
       "archiveUrl": null,
       "archivedAt": null,
       "contentHash": null,
       "status": "not-captured"
      }
     }
    ],
    "coverage": {
     "claimsTotal": 13,
     "claimsMapped": 13,
     "sourcesTotal": 5,
     "sourcesUsedByClaims": 5,
     "sourcesWithPublicationDate": 4,
     "sourcesWithArchive": 0,
     "sourcesWithExactLocator": 0,
     "sourcesWithContentHash": 0
    },
    "limits": [
     "Publisher names and source languages have not yet been classified; domains are recorded without guessing.",
     "Existing source notes are descriptive locators, not page- or paragraph-exact citations.",
     "A missing archive, publication date or content hash is shown as null rather than inferred.",
     "The project-level evidence grade ranks the strongest source in the entry; it is not a truth score for every claim."
    ]
   }
  }
 ]
}
